why I’ll be eating a lot of fish

 

top 100 things twitterers are giving up for Lent (via openbible.info)

This year, I’m giving up meat for Lent. Old school, I know. I’ve given up other things before (most notable was the year I didn’t buy books for 40 days), but I’ve already been more discerning about what I spend my money on this past six months (the upside to being unemployed) so it didn’t feel like much of a sacrifice to vow to give up buying the books I’m not buying now anyway.

But I like meat. I don’t eat as much of it as I used to, but I can really enjoy turkey enchiladas or a good lamb stew. So it felt like a proper Lenten sacrifice to give it up for 40 days. Not to mention that I’ve been thinking about factory farming and other questionable ways we get our meat lately, so it seems like a good idea from an ecological/moral viewpoint as well.

Tuesday, I had one last blow-out (featuring, among other things, chicken nuggets. For some reason, I love chicken nuggets), but as of yesterday, I am, for all intents and purposes, vegetarian. Wish me luck.

 

6 Comments

  1. You know I always give you a hard time when you write about eating meat, but this time I’m actually very glad with what you’ve written: hurray for going vegetarian!

    Of course, I wouldn’t be quite myself if I wouldn’t ask a (rhetorical) question: if you’re to be a vegetarian for lent, why does it say you’ll be eating a lot of fish? Is that meant ironically, or are you going pescotarian—no meat but still fish?

    If you’re eating fish, I hope you’ll be looking into “sustainable fish” labels. (I personally think it’s still a load of s–t, but it’s still a little bit better than callously eating any kind of fish.)

    Anyway, my general impression is positive: you’re one step closer to veganism. Teehee!

    • I’m going for soft-core vegetarianism, hence the meat. (If I use labels like pescotarian, no one would understand..kind of like correcting an atheist when he says, so, you’re a christian, by saying, no, actually, I’m a 7th-day-adventist-baptist-coming-of-christ-apostle (and no, that church doesn’t actually exist ;-)

      I always eat sustainable fish, and have, for years. I do take some responsibility for the/my environment ;-)

      I don’t think I’ll ever go to veganism. I just don’t see the need. (I understand the need articulated by others, but I don’t agree with it.)

  2. I’m with you, meat is a good lenten sacrifice. I will join you in moaning how good the roasted chicken smells that we can’t have. Except for me, it means no more ham sandwiches, chicken nuggets or turkey enchiladas. At all. Ok, for the next 7 years. Depressing, isn’t it?

    • 7 years? Any reason for that number?

      Dad put some breakfast meats on the table this morning and I had to remind myself to stick to the cheese…it was also quite depressing to look through the AllerHande and not be able to make most of the recipes for the next 40 days. On the upside, I’m taking a leaf out of our camping book and eating refried bean burritos tonight. I remember we had you eat refried beans with just about everything when Boca burgers couldn’t be had ;-)

Leave a Reply

