this might be my bi-cultural heritage here

Today we’re off to celebrate Koninginnedag, Queensday. Which means B. is dressed in our national color, orange. Orange isn’t a particularly flattering color, for anyone. Luckily I only own one orange shirt and I left it in Germany, quite by accident of course. So I’m exempting myself from cultural pressure today.

Today is also the birthday of a good friend. Which I personally find more important than Queensday. So I’m looking forward to this afternoon, when we’ve hopefully left most orange-clad people behind. Also, because there’s going to be cake. Cake trumps the queen, in my limited experience (granted that I’ve never met her or anything.)

Even Google is orange-clad.

A nice touch is that today is a national holiday in the Netherlands, and tomorrow is a national holiday in Germany (Labor Day). Thank you, four day weekend!

One thought on “this might be my bi-cultural heritage here

Leave a Reply

