2012 in books, part three

30. The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins*
31. Catching Fire - Suzanne Collins*
32. Mockingjay - Suzanne Collins*
We all know how much I love The Hunger Games.

33. The Wednesday Wars – Gary Schmidt*
And The Wednesday Wars.

34. Austenland - Shannon Hale
Girl loves Pride and Prejudice and is waiting for her own Mr. Darcy, rich aunt sends girl to Austen reenactment, fantasies don’t quite turn out to be true but real happiness reigns after all. That would be about the plot of the book and I think you can tell I didn’t find it satisfying. But I don’t really have anything bad to say about it (not liked The Sealed Letter, up next). I just liked Shannon Hale’s other books so much more. By the way,  I hate mentally comparing author’s books and feeling one is kind of lacking. So I’m going to forget about this one if you don’t mind.

35. The Sealed Letter – Emma Donaghue
Aargh. This one about killed me.

36. Adventures of a Church Historian – Leonard J. Arrington
The title is fairly self-explanatory. I thought this was fascinating for the look we got into the making of Mormon history (quite literally). It’s an important period in my research and this really put a face on people I’ve been reading about for the past year. Also, I would have loved to have met Leonard Arrington–now Roald Dahl has a rival in that cliché question, who would you like to meet, alive or dead?

37. Soul Music - Terry Pratchett*
We also all know how much I love Terry Pratchett. I quote that guy all the time (if sometimes only in my head because it gets kind of awkward when you can quote books and no one else can). This is one of my lesser favorites (about rock and roll, or “music with rocks in”) but still good. (As an aside, sometimes it scares me how much my universe is Discworld-shaped.)

38. Mormonism and the American Experience – Klaus J. Hansen
39. The Book of Mormon: A Very Short Introduction – Terryl Givens
The Hansen book I didn’t get much out of, the Givens book was wonderful.

The amount of rereads (marked with an asterisk) is explained by the fact that most of the other books were academic ones–if I’m reading scholarly tomes all day I want something light and easy and familiar at night. Perhaps the next installment will be more interesting (although I just took a look at my 2012 in books page and I was apparently in a Patricia Cornwell phase there, so I don’t know.)

You can find parts one and two here.

3 Comments

  1. Man, unlike every other person on the planet apparently, I do not get the whole Hunger Games fanaticism.

    But, I would love to meet Leonard Arrington too. And I haven’t read any Teryl Givens, but have listened to an interview with him, and I think he and his ideas are fascinating.

  2. Pingback: 2012 in books, part four | eat.sleep.read.love.

  3. Pingback: 2012 in books, part five « eat.sleep.read.love.

Leave a Reply

