field trip!

Today we went on a field trip to the Church History Library in Salt Lake City. We got a tour through the library and then went into one of the vaults. We saw two diaries–one by Joseph Smith, the other by Wilford Woodruff.* Woodruff’s diary was intricately decorated: the man not only managed to keep a diary faithfully, but also illustrated it. But the pièce de résistance was one of the original transcriptions of the Book of Mormon. Forget the debate on whether Joseph was divinely inspired or not–you could feel something happen with the people in that room when it was brought out. Even I got goosebumps and I’m not even LDS.

*I always forget his name–I kind of cross it with Woodrow Wilson (the US president) and Felix Woodrow (of Step Ball Change). Which is typical since the guy isn’t actually called Woodrow, but whatever.

On a side note, I asked if you had to be LDS to work at the Library, and the answer was yes, unfortunately. Then the other seminar people reminded me I could always convert. So if I ever do, you’ll know it was because of the library.

After lunch at the City Creek Mall, we walked around Temple Square for a while before going to the Church History Museum.

This is where approximately everyone has their picture taken, especially if it’s their wedding day. So Dino and I decided to join in on the fun. Also, the temple is not leaning. I think that’s just me.

We’ve been working pretty hard so it was nice to stop staring at books in the BYU Library and go look at documents in the Church History Library instead.

(I know. To paraphrase Leonard: “Some kind of nerd? I’m the queen of nerds!” Whatever. I had fun.)

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: 2012 in 35 questions | eat.sleep.read.love.

Leave a Reply

