The Girl Who Was on Fire

I was really looking forward to this book. I love The Hunger Games trilogy, the obvious stylistic/plot problems aside (does anyone actually like Katniss in the later books?), and with my MA in American literature, it was right up my alley.

(As an aside, the only downside to already doing a PhD is that I can’t dream up ideas for dissertations any more. Young adult dystopian fiction was high on that list, once. As was Asian American foodways. As was the city of Miami as represented in literature. As was Harry Potter. As was…)

The Girl Who Was on Fire: Your Favorite Writers On Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games Trilogy, edited by Leah Wilson,contains a variety of essays. Most of them are quick and easy and not meant for an academic audience. I found that that didn’t detract from my pleasure, even though with that abovementioned MA, most of what was written was not new to me. But I was pleasantly surprised by a couple essays, skipped only a few, and enjoyed the rest.

The essays run the gamut from neuroscience to the Peeta vs. Gale debate* to fashion, and there’s something for everyone in there. I’d recommend it to anyone who loved the Hunger Games, although you might have to be a bit of a nerd to appreciate it! But you know, nerds get preference in my book and I bet at least some of you reading this fall into that category one way or another.

*I’m firmly in the Peeta camp, if only because handsome, broad-shouldered men intimidate me. And I love bread, so marrying a baker seems like a perfect choice to me. Never underestimate the power of food. The first time I saw B. was at a New Year’s Eve dinner party, where he brought cassoulet. I might have fallen in love with him right there.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: 2012 in books, part six | eat.sleep.read.love.

Leave a Reply

