goat cheese burgers

The other day, I looked in the fridge and saw that we had four blocks of goat cheese in there. And then I came across this recipe. And then I made dinner. (Quite the scintillating tale, right?)
In the original post, Natalie Perry warned that this really is a burger for die-hard goat cheese lovers. And that’s certainly true, since you stuff the burgers with cheese and then sprinkle them with a goat cheese cucumber cilantro dressing. So consider yourself forewarned if goat cheese isn’t really your thing. (Although I will then have to wonder about you since it’s one of my favorite cheeses.)

Goat cheese burgers, adapted from Perry’s Plate
(makes 6 small burgers)

Ingredients:

Burgers:
400-500 grams of ground beef or lamb (depending on how thick you want your burgers). We had organic, but do whatever best fits your price range and ethics.
salt and pepper to season
75-100 g goat cheese
1-2 tsp lemon zest
1 clove of garlic
1 chopped spring onion

Note: I served these wrapped in lettuce but you can go the traditional way with buns or pitas. Tomatoes would also be good, as would fresh spinach.

Dressing:
100 g goat cheese
2 tbsp sherry vinegar (the recipe calls for cider vinegar, but we were out, so I used sherry vinegar instead. I’d use whatever you have.)
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp dark mustard
1/3 c shredded cucumber
3 tbsp chopped cilantro
1/4 c buttermilk or 2 tbsp mayonaise
2 tbsp lemon juice

Note: the recipe calls for buttermilk. I didn’t have that, so I added a bit of mayonnaise. You’re probably not supposed to do that for a myriad of reasons but I didn’t care and it still tasted good.

Directions:

Preheat your grill(pan).

Season your ground beef with salt and pepper in a bowl and gently mix it.
Grab another bowl and combine the goat cheese, lemon zest, spring onion, and garlic.
Divide the meat into the number of patties (in my case, 6 small ones). Instead of making one large patty, you’re going to want to make two flat ones. Spoon some of the cheese mix onto the center, top with the other one and seal it together with your fingers. Repeat till meat and cheese is gone.
Grill the burgers on medium high for about ten minutes. Make sure to flip them at least once.

While the burgers are on the grill, you can move on to the dressing. Grab your food processor (or your hand whisk, whatever works for you). Combine all the ingredients except the cucumber and cilantro until smooth. Stir in the cucumber and cilantro. Add extra mustard, lemon juice, cilantro or salt and pepper to taste.

Assemble the burgers, spooning a little bit of the dressing on top of the burger. You can wrap them in lettuce like I did, or use a bun or pita. We ate them with eggplant and zucchini on the side.

wrapping the burgers

this is about as fancy as I can make it.

If you look at the original you’ll notice I took the recipe and ran with it, using less goat cheese, no buttermilk, adding spring onions and lemon juice. The best part of this is that you can make it into whatever you want. Have fun with it!

3 thoughts on “goat cheese burgers

  1. Elske says:

    sounds delicious, though I have to admit the original picture looks a bit nicer than the lettuce one ;). But I’d love to try your recipe! Now how to make a veggie version…
    Also, you know you could’ve just made your own buttermilk with some milk and that sherry vinegar?

    • I think it also helps that the original poster doesn’t live in a basement apartment and actually has a camera, but I get your point ;-)

      Thanks for the tip about buttermilk, although B. and I never buy milk. If I ever start putting it on my grocery list, I’ll keep it in mind.

Leave a Reply

