back in Dortmund

On Saturday, I moved back to Dortmund. My father and sister were gracious enough to help me, though they looked a little aghast when they saw just how many boxes I’d filled with my stuff. (It’s like they don’t know me.) But we got the cars loaded and headed out after I said a tear-filled goodbye to B. As an aside, breaking up because you know it’s the right thing to do, even though you still love each other, has to be the weirdest thing on earth. I don’t really recommend it.

In Dortmund, after struggling up five flights of stairs, I found out my key wouldn’t fit in the lock. A lot of drama later (most of it in half-intelligble German), we figured out my (elderly) landlords had been worried about me, since I hadn’t been by in so long. They forced the lock to check I wasn’t lying dead in my apartment, although I think you would have smelled that if it had been the case. They were very apologetic about forcing the lock and I soon got the new key from my downstairs neighbor. So that was good.

I think the best part of this story is that when they entered the apartment to check I wasn’t dead, they saw my assorted Mormon paraphernalia. And then, my landlords being elderly and worried, they had a new fear. Maybe I had been kidnapped by the Mormons!

Needless to say, I think the Church needs to spend some time and money on PR over here.

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. I am so sorry about the first part of this story, but the bit where your landlords were worried that you were maybe dead and/or kidnapped by Mormons is too funny (although, obviously, not to them). Those are good landlords to have!

    ps. I would totally kidnap you. :-)

  2. Hi Saskia,

    I realized you were in the US (mostly Utah, right?) for some time. Like someone said, the landlord and Mormon kidnapping suspicion is too funny. I don’t know how thoroughly you watch things in media (including mags) being published re. Mormonism and the Romney/Mormon connection, so you may well know of this. But if not, I think you’d find real interest and maybe even a research lead or two or a new insight in a very well-done article I think entitled “The Mind of Romney” or something similar in The New Yorker magazine an issue or 2 ago… I think late Sept. or maybe 1st one of Oct. I’d love to read it if you can comment to confirm, challenge or whatever about what’s in that.

Leave a Reply

