what I ate in January

My favorites from this month:

Dijon-braised brussels sprouts from Smitten Kitchen: These were so good. If you like brussels sprouts at all, please go try them! The sauce is really easy to make (and I bet would be good on a lot of other things). I tend to eat a lot of brussels sprouts when they’re in season, as they go on sale for anything from 50 to 90 cents for a bag, so this is a recipe I plan to use a lot.

Baked Ziti from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe: I had pinned this recipe a long time ago but hadn’t gotten around to making it yet. I used a lot less parmesan cheese, heavy cream, and cottage cheese as I find that Americans like their dishes to be much creamier than I do.

Dal nirvana from Budget Bytes: I made a big pot of this and ate it for days. One day, I paired it with Indian-style creamed spinach and rice and ate it as the ultimate comfort food. Only naan could have made it better but I was too lazy to make that that day.

Spicy Southwest Slaw from A Hint of Honey: I ate this with oven-roasted pulled pork sandwiches, and though I can’t recommend the sandwiches, I can definitely recommend the slaw.

2 thoughts on “what I ate in January

  1. ” I used a lot less parmesan cheese, heavy cream, and cottage cheese as I find that Americans like their dishes to be much creamier than I do.”

    Hey. You don’t get to be the fattest country on Earth without working for it. I do love me some Mel’s Kitchen Cafe. I would eat her White Chicken Chili every single week in the winter if I didn’t live with a whiner . . .

    • Ha, I phrased that as tactfully as I could. I find I have more American tastes than my European friends, but then I try to make something really American and I…just can’t do that to myself.

      And Mel’s Kitchen Cafe rocks. I love that site.

Leave a Reply

