a love letter to my friends

I do not have a date for Valentine’s Day tomorrow. I didn’t have one last year, either. Don’t worry, I don’t really care. When I think about all the reasons why I’d like to have someone in my life, celebrating Valentine’s Day does not make it on to the list. (No offense to those of you that go all out–that’s just not my idea of romance.) But what I do have is an unhealthy fixation with Parks and Recreation, and thus the felt need to celebrate¬†Galentine’s Day. So here we go: my love letter to my female friends.

I am blessed with so many lovely ladies in my life. You know who you are, and you make my life better every single day, with your Skype calls and blog comments and texts and cards sent through the mail, with HIMYM marathons and coffee breaks and museum visits, with chats about nothing and everything,¬† with endless patience for all my quirks, with refuge when I need it, and even when I don’t. I never do things the easy way (see: moving countries twice in three years), and I am incredibly appreciative of all the ways you cheer me on. I am lucky to know all of you. If most of you weren’t living an ocean away, I’d invite you all over for coffee and the breakfast food of your choice, but this will have to do for now. Thank you for being my friend.

via

To any male friends reading this, I love you too. Just not today. via

(If this post makes no sense to you, it’s a sign you need to repent and start watching Parks and Recreation. Seriously.)

4 thoughts on “a love letter to my friends

Leave a Reply

