Southern culture

Last week I really tore into my summer reading list. One of the books one it was Standing in the Rainbow by Fannie Flagg. I loved it so much I read Welcome to the World, Baby Girl! and Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man right after it. I had already read Fried Green Tomatoes and A Redbird Christmas. Though I didn’t like Redbird and Daisy Fay as much as I liked the other books, I loved the way Flagg describes Southern culture. It’s what I love about Joshilyn Jackson’s gods in Alabama. It seems like the next best thing to experiencing Southern culture myself (something I would really like to do, by the way). 

Flagg has one more book I haven’t read: Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven. Hope I can afford that one soon. And Jackson has a book coming out in March: The Girl Who Stopped Swimming. Can’t wait to read that one!! 

As always: so many books, so little time!

6 thoughts on “Southern culture

  1. Anonymous says:

    sounds like some awesome books! I’m still reading your books here, but it doesn’t go as fast as I want it to. Seems like I didn’t have any time at all this summer…where did my days go???? :S
    xx Lotte

    • Isn’t that always the case? When I look back at this summer, I haven’t accomplished half that I wanted to! My summer reading list is still really long, it took me ages to finish all that schoolwork, and I barely met up with my Nijmeegse friends. And yet I was almost never bored. I guess I exercised a lot, and read a lot, and wrote a little. It’s funny how fast time goes.

  2. Anonymous says:

    sounds like some awesome books! I’m still reading your books here, but it doesn’t go as fast as I want it to. Seems like I didn’t have any time at all this summer…where did my days go???? :S
    xx Lotte

    • Isn’t that always the case? When I look back at this summer, I haven’t accomplished half that I wanted to! My summer reading list is still really long, it took me ages to finish all that schoolwork, and I barely met up with my Nijmeegse friends. And yet I was almost never bored. I guess I exercised a lot, and read a lot, and wrote a little. It’s funny how fast time goes.

  3. Anonymous says:

    sounds like some awesome books! I’m still reading your books here, but it doesn’t go as fast as I want it to. Seems like I didn’t have any time at all this summer…where did my days go???? :S
    xx Lotte

    • Isn’t that always the case? When I look back at this summer, I haven’t accomplished half that I wanted to! My summer reading list is still really long, it took me ages to finish all that schoolwork, and I barely met up with my Nijmeegse friends. And yet I was almost never bored. I guess I exercised a lot, and read a lot, and wrote a little. It’s funny how fast time goes.

Leave a Reply

