One of the things I love to do when I spend a weekend at my mom’s is looking through all of my dad’s old books. I often spot a book we’ve talked about in class, and I then snap it up to take with me to Nijmegen. I always joke that when my dad moves all his books to California, he’ll have to drop by Nijmegen first so that he can cart away all the books I’ve ‘borrowed’ over the years…

I also like to reread old favorites. That can be a book I loved as a kid (like Montgomery’s “Anne of the Island” series) or one I read later on, like D.L. Smith’s The Miracles of Santo Fico. Seeing all my favorites on a shelf together makes coming home more like, well, coming home.

Leave a Reply

