Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Right now, I’m working my way through the five books that make up the Hitchhiker’s trilogy (why call it a trilogy if it contains five books?). I bought the commerative edition for ten euros a couple of weeks ago, and I’ve been taking the slim books with me everywhere, reading a page here, a page there. 

A friend of mine compared them to Terry Pratchett, saying if I liked the Discworld, I’d like Douglas Adams. But I have to say I like the Discworld infinitely more than I do the Galaxy. Not that his books aren’t good, or nice, but I think he tends to repeat himself a lot, and the humor is always the same. I had hoped to be a little more surprised. But I still have to finish the fourth (Goodbye and thanks for all the fish) and start the fifth (Mostly Harmless). I think I’ll do that this weekend. Update to come!

Leave a Reply

