I don’t really like hurrying in the morning, but it’s something I end up doing almost every morning anyway. I always start off great, by allowing myself enough time to get up, shower, dress, pack my bag and eat breakfast. But somewhere between getting up and getting dressed, I manage to sidetrack myself enough to be late. (Not that I’m ever really late: I can bike really fast and I always allow myself extra time to get somewhere anyway). Usually, the diversion is in the form of my computer. Every morning, I read 16 blogs. Or, at least, I check 16 blogs to see if they’ve posted anything.Some of them or from people I know, some of them people I have never met but I’ve stumbled upon their blogs accidentally and feel connected to them now, even though they don’t know I exist, some of them are half professional/celebrity bloggers (I like reading the blog of singer Christine Kane and writer Joshilyn Jackson). The rest are an odd assortment of advice columns (Dan Savage, Dear Margo, Dear Prudence, Dear Abby). Oh, and I like reading The Sandbox, a military blog (run by Slate – I highly recommend it. If you like Doonesbury, you’ll like it). 

And when I’m not reading a blog, I’m listening to a podcast. I absolutely love This American Life, but I also listen to Bread and Circus, This I Believe, NPR Religion and Savage Love Podcast. And while I like having something to listen to while I brush my teeth and attempt to style my hair and do everything else, I can’t pretend it’s not slowing me down.

Anyway, I tell myself every morning that I shouldn’t switch on my computer, but I manage to find a reason why I really need to check something on the internet (the weather, my schedule, my e-mail) and before I know it I’m reading someone’s blog, someone I don’t know, and something I don’t have time for! My ability to procrastinate never fails to amaze me…

6 thoughts on “

  1. Ah, the morning routine…
    I have honed my term-time morning routine such that I take exactly 1 hour to get ready and get to class. This includes (in order) checking e-mail, checking zephyr logs, shower, dressing, heading out, and getting coffee.
    I hate being late.
    I had a long list of blogs (chemistry, personal, + technical) I read every morning after getting into work over the summer, but term is just too hosing for me to be able to keep that up.
    Dennis loves Slate – he’ll be amused that you read it. Every couple of months I remember that I haven’t read that last several months’ worth of Savage Love and catch up; I’ll have to go do that now…

  2. Ah, the morning routine…
    I have honed my term-time morning routine such that I take exactly 1 hour to get ready and get to class. This includes (in order) checking e-mail, checking zephyr logs, shower, dressing, heading out, and getting coffee.
    I hate being late.
    I had a long list of blogs (chemistry, personal, + technical) I read every morning after getting into work over the summer, but term is just too hosing for me to be able to keep that up.
    Dennis loves Slate – he’ll be amused that you read it. Every couple of months I remember that I haven’t read that last several months’ worth of Savage Love and catch up; I’ll have to go do that now…

  3. Ah, the morning routine…
    I have honed my term-time morning routine such that I take exactly 1 hour to get ready and get to class. This includes (in order) checking e-mail, checking zephyr logs, shower, dressing, heading out, and getting coffee.
    I hate being late.
    I had a long list of blogs (chemistry, personal, + technical) I read every morning after getting into work over the summer, but term is just too hosing for me to be able to keep that up.
    Dennis loves Slate – he’ll be amused that you read it. Every couple of months I remember that I haven’t read that last several months’ worth of Savage Love and catch up; I’ll have to go do that now…

  4. Anonymous says:

    I know the deal…it’s exactly the same way over here since I got my computer in my own room (before we had a seperate computerroom). I might go check out the blogs you mentioned🙂 Thanks for the tip!
    oh and by the way: BSB RULES😛 lol…😉
    xxx Lotte

  5. Anonymous says:

    I know the deal…it’s exactly the same way over here since I got my computer in my own room (before we had a seperate computerroom). I might go check out the blogs you mentioned🙂 Thanks for the tip!
    oh and by the way: BSB RULES😛 lol…😉
    xxx Lotte

  6. Anonymous says:

    I know the deal…it’s exactly the same way over here since I got my computer in my own room (before we had a seperate computerroom). I might go check out the blogs you mentioned🙂 Thanks for the tip!
    oh and by the way: BSB RULES😛 lol…😉
    xxx Lotte

Leave a Reply

