John Irving

To date, I have read seven books by John Irving:

A Widow for One Year
Until I Find You
The World According to Garp
A Prayer for Owen Meany
The Son of the Circus
The Fourth Hand
The Cider House Rules

The total absurdity of his plots and characters never fail to amaze me! The Son of the Circus and the Cider House Rules were really memorable in that way, although A Prayer for Owen Meany had a lot of weird moments as well. If I’m honest, pretty much all this books have those..maybe that’s why I like reading them so much.

I like the way he has his own really recognizable style, and the way that now that I’ve read so many of his books, I can kind of see what his central themes are and how they enter into each book. I’m rereading Garp right now, and waiting for the nasty accident in the middle, involving the stick shift in his car. That part really stuck with me. I doubt I’ll get there today, and maybe that’s a good thing…

Leave a Reply

