Ballet

reading: Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen

Yesterday, I went to see the Sleeping Beauty , performed by the National Ballet, with my family in Amsterdam. It was so incredibly beautiful! 

 Het Nationale Ballet

I got back home really late (I took one of the last trains), so I slept late this morning. I’m about to shower, eat breakfast (uhm, I think I mean lunch, seeing as it’s already 11:30) and get ready to study very hard. I have a final on Wednesday. These next days, I’m going to immerse myself in the relationship between the United States and Canada. But I can’t help it if Sleeping Beauty and her prince come dance through my thoughts every once in a while…

9 thoughts on “Ballet

  1. Anonymous says:

    Though I’ve never been much into ballet, it does sound interesting to see such a well-known fairytale performed in a ballet dance…maybe I should look into this more and discover a whole new cultural passion that I didn’t know existed🙂
    xx Lotte

    • Yeah, than you can go to all the ballets too, as well as all the concerts! You know, after the Extreme Makeover lecture on ballet, I saw it in a whole new light…it was still beautiful, but I couldn’t help thinking about how some of the moves had to hurt, and about the illusion of lightness.
      But it was really cool. I especially liked the men dancing, the moves are more powerful or something.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Though I’ve never been much into ballet, it does sound interesting to see such a well-known fairytale performed in a ballet dance…maybe I should look into this more and discover a whole new cultural passion that I didn’t know existed🙂
    xx Lotte

    • Yeah, than you can go to all the ballets too, as well as all the concerts! You know, after the Extreme Makeover lecture on ballet, I saw it in a whole new light…it was still beautiful, but I couldn’t help thinking about how some of the moves had to hurt, and about the illusion of lightness.
      But it was really cool. I especially liked the men dancing, the moves are more powerful or something.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Though I’ve never been much into ballet, it does sound interesting to see such a well-known fairytale performed in a ballet dance…maybe I should look into this more and discover a whole new cultural passion that I didn’t know existed🙂
    xx Lotte

    • Yeah, than you can go to all the ballets too, as well as all the concerts! You know, after the Extreme Makeover lecture on ballet, I saw it in a whole new light…it was still beautiful, but I couldn’t help thinking about how some of the moves had to hurt, and about the illusion of lightness.
      But it was really cool. I especially liked the men dancing, the moves are more powerful or something.

  4. thanks for the comment in bookish :].
    anyway, i love sleeping beauty, but i think the musical of Beauty and the Beast pretty much takes the award, because i am a disney watching addict, and need to be instatutionalized. or just given actual movies with more of a plot line. whichever first…
    :], misnomer

  5. thanks for the comment in bookish :].
    anyway, i love sleeping beauty, but i think the musical of Beauty and the Beast pretty much takes the award, because i am a disney watching addict, and need to be instatutionalized. or just given actual movies with more of a plot line. whichever first…
    :], misnomer

  6. thanks for the comment in bookish :].
    anyway, i love sleeping beauty, but i think the musical of Beauty and the Beast pretty much takes the award, because i am a disney watching addict, and need to be instatutionalized. or just given actual movies with more of a plot line. whichever first…
    :], misnomer

Leave a Reply

