60 years and counting

reading: the Corrections, by Jonathan Franzen (will I ever finish it?)


My grandparents set up their nativity scene for the 60th time this year. It’s over 75 years old and it still looks amazing! My mom and I visited them Sunday, and I took a couple of minutes to photograph baby Jesus surrounded by wellwishers. While traditional nativity scenes are not really my thing, this one is special to me because it’s been in my family so long. My grandma once gave me her Catholic prayer book (with all the First Communion cards of my mom, aunts and uncle inside) and also a necklace, which I wear often. It’s nice to have stuff that links 
me to my family. 

6 thoughts on “60 years and counting

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love traditions, especially familytraditions.
    It’s a way to bond I guess🙂 My dad always makes a nativity scene too,
    but in a bit of a modern way…this year he added an iceskating ring with
    little people on iceskates on it hahaha…Looked pretty cute, though it
    doesn’t have anything to do with baby Jesus…
    xx Lotte

  2. Anonymous says:

    I love traditions, especially familytraditions.
    It’s a way to bond I guess🙂 My dad always makes a nativity scene too,
    but in a bit of a modern way…this year he added an iceskating ring with
    little people on iceskates on it hahaha…Looked pretty cute, though it
    doesn’t have anything to do with baby Jesus…
    xx Lotte

  3. Anonymous says:

    I love traditions, especially familytraditions.
    It’s a way to bond I guess🙂 My dad always makes a nativity scene too,
    but in a bit of a modern way…this year he added an iceskating ring with
    little people on iceskates on it hahaha…Looked pretty cute, though it
    doesn’t have anything to do with baby Jesus…
    xx Lotte

Leave a Reply

