the Corrections

reading: Beknopte Geschiedenis van de Wijsbegeerte 

I finally finished The Corrections, by Jonathan Franzen. 

The CorrectionsIt was an intriguing read, describing the five members of one family trying to keep up appearances. Needless to say, some members are better at this than others, but none of them are really happy. The end was very well-written, but kind of horrible. I won’t tell you what happens in case you want to read it yourself. The blurb on my British edition “announces Jonathan Franzen as one the most brilliant interpreters of American society and the American soul”. I’m not sure I still like the American soul, after reading this, but I did like the book.

24 thoughts on “the Corrections

    • That book really, really sucks!! Seriously, I’m glad I have the answers to the questions from a friend, otherwise I would have no idea what the right answer is..the language is way too difficult, like the content isn’t hard enough already!

      • At least you have the answers – lucky you! I don’t and I’m currently searching for some online source that explains Descartes and Spinoza in a more simplistic language… I fear the worst…

    • That book really, really sucks!! Seriously, I’m glad I have the answers to the questions from a friend, otherwise I would have no idea what the right answer is..the language is way too difficult, like the content isn’t hard enough already!

      • At least you have the answers – lucky you! I don’t and I’m currently searching for some online source that explains Descartes and Spinoza in a more simplistic language… I fear the worst…

    • That book really, really sucks!! Seriously, I’m glad I have the answers to the questions from a friend, otherwise I would have no idea what the right answer is..the language is way too difficult, like the content isn’t hard enough already!

      • At least you have the answers – lucky you! I don’t and I’m currently searching for some online source that explains Descartes and Spinoza in a more simplistic language… I fear the worst…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Oh yeah, another victim raises her hand…I’m trying to read the book too…I hate it and fall asleep every 30 minutes or so…:s
    I’m curious about your Franzen book though…I read the backside when I was at your place the other day and it intrigued me…is it a hard read, like should I save it for holidays or summervacation when I have more time, or can I manage to read it while having to study?
    xxx Lotte

    • Oh, you can read it while studying. I could read it in etappes, because it’s divided in sections about different characters. It took me about a month to finish it, but that was mostly because the size of the book is big so I couldn’t easily read it in school or on the train. If you want, you can borrow it. I don’t have space to keep it on my shelves anyway..do you want me to bring it to the exam Wednesday?

      • Anonymous says:

        That would be great!!! Thanks so much for letting me borrow all those books…I’ve transported the other ones to Nijmegen, so if you want them back I can give them to you if it takes too long🙂
        See ya wednesday!!! (my first night in Nijmegen…!) Oh and I still have your ‘bakplaat’ which Lieke gave me🙂

        • The more books you have, the more room I have on my shelves…so it’s a win-win situation! I hope I’ll remember to take it. Hey, are you busy Thursday afternoon? I want to go kickfit at 3, but I could come over for lunch or something to admire your new place?

          • Anonymous says:

            I haven’t planned much for thursday, other than trying to find the AH XL somewhere haha.
            So maybe you can show me? lol..saves me getting lost in Nijmegen and not being able to find my way back😉
            I’d love to have you over for lunch🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh yeah, another victim raises her hand…I’m trying to read the book too…I hate it and fall asleep every 30 minutes or so…:s
    I’m curious about your Franzen book though…I read the backside when I was at your place the other day and it intrigued me…is it a hard read, like should I save it for holidays or summervacation when I have more time, or can I manage to read it while having to study?
    xxx Lotte

    • Oh, you can read it while studying. I could read it in etappes, because it’s divided in sections about different characters. It took me about a month to finish it, but that was mostly because the size of the book is big so I couldn’t easily read it in school or on the train. If you want, you can borrow it. I don’t have space to keep it on my shelves anyway..do you want me to bring it to the exam Wednesday?

      • Anonymous says:

        That would be great!!! Thanks so much for letting me borrow all those books…I’ve transported the other ones to Nijmegen, so if you want them back I can give them to you if it takes too long🙂
        See ya wednesday!!! (my first night in Nijmegen…!) Oh and I still have your ‘bakplaat’ which Lieke gave me🙂

        • The more books you have, the more room I have on my shelves…so it’s a win-win situation! I hope I’ll remember to take it. Hey, are you busy Thursday afternoon? I want to go kickfit at 3, but I could come over for lunch or something to admire your new place?

          • Anonymous says:

            I haven’t planned much for thursday, other than trying to find the AH XL somewhere haha.
            So maybe you can show me? lol..saves me getting lost in Nijmegen and not being able to find my way back😉
            I’d love to have you over for lunch🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    Oh yeah, another victim raises her hand…I’m trying to read the book too…I hate it and fall asleep every 30 minutes or so…:s
    I’m curious about your Franzen book though…I read the backside when I was at your place the other day and it intrigued me…is it a hard read, like should I save it for holidays or summervacation when I have more time, or can I manage to read it while having to study?
    xxx Lotte

    • Oh, you can read it while studying. I could read it in etappes, because it’s divided in sections about different characters. It took me about a month to finish it, but that was mostly because the size of the book is big so I couldn’t easily read it in school or on the train. If you want, you can borrow it. I don’t have space to keep it on my shelves anyway..do you want me to bring it to the exam Wednesday?

      • Anonymous says:

        That would be great!!! Thanks so much for letting me borrow all those books…I’ve transported the other ones to Nijmegen, so if you want them back I can give them to you if it takes too long🙂
        See ya wednesday!!! (my first night in Nijmegen…!) Oh and I still have your ‘bakplaat’ which Lieke gave me🙂

        • The more books you have, the more room I have on my shelves…so it’s a win-win situation! I hope I’ll remember to take it. Hey, are you busy Thursday afternoon? I want to go kickfit at 3, but I could come over for lunch or something to admire your new place?

          • Anonymous says:

            I haven’t planned much for thursday, other than trying to find the AH XL somewhere haha.
            So maybe you can show me? lol..saves me getting lost in Nijmegen and not being able to find my way back😉
            I’d love to have you over for lunch🙂

Leave a Reply

