Nighttime excitement (part 2)

reading: The Worst Years of Your Life, edited by Mark Jude Poirer, and also The New Kings of Nonfiction, edited by Ira Glass

Something out there doesn’t want me to have a good night’s sleep. 

Last night, at one o’clock – I had been asleep for about an hour – one of my shelves came crashing down. Coincidentally, this was not one of the many shelves holding books, but the top one, which holds pretty much all my dishes. When dishes fall from such a height, they break. Consequently, I turned on the light to see broken glass and ceramics everywhere. I now have only two breakfast plates that are untouched, and a couple more missing pieces. Four cups are miraculously unbroken, but gone are all the glasses, teacups, coffee cups and most of my plates. Even one of my cereal bowls smashed – and those are made of plastic! I spent half the morning cleaning up, since I was too exhausted to do it last night. What makes it even worse is that most of the broken dishes had been sitting on the kitchen counter for days, waiting for me to wash them. If I had just procrastinated them for another day, I wouldn’t have a box of broken glass besides me.

This was the second time in two days my heart was beating at an unhealthy rate, while I sat up in bed disorientated. Luckily I didn’t bolt across the room this time, or I would have stepped in broken glass and seriously hurt myself.

I’m awaiting tonight with trepidation. Who knows what will happen?

21 thoughts on “Nighttime excitement (part 2)

  1. Spooks creeping around, shelves crashing down… are you sure your dorm is not haunted? *g*
    Seriously though, I’m sorry that you have to buy new glassworks and plates. You might consider putting them on a lower shelf in the future.😛

  2. Spooks creeping around, shelves crashing down… are you sure your dorm is not haunted? *g*
    Seriously though, I’m sorry that you have to buy new glassworks and plates. You might consider putting them on a lower shelf in the future.😛

  3. Spooks creeping around, shelves crashing down… are you sure your dorm is not haunted? *g*
    Seriously though, I’m sorry that you have to buy new glassworks and plates. You might consider putting them on a lower shelf in the future.😛

  4. Anonymous says:

    Damn, that sucks big time! I hope you can get some cheap and nice new stuff.
    You might consider Xenos too, much cheaper than Blokker from what I know🙂
    I can imagine that you were scared shitless! I had it once when both (!!!) of my bookshelves (which are actually 5 rows each) came down (they were hanging on the wall)…in the middle of the night.
    I totally didn’t know what was happening haha…But afterwards I couldn’t stop laughing…
    But my books were still alive and your stuff is not, so that’s a different case.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Damn, that sucks big time! I hope you can get some cheap and nice new stuff.
    You might consider Xenos too, much cheaper than Blokker from what I know🙂
    I can imagine that you were scared shitless! I had it once when both (!!!) of my bookshelves (which are actually 5 rows each) came down (they were hanging on the wall)…in the middle of the night.
    I totally didn’t know what was happening haha…But afterwards I couldn’t stop laughing…
    But my books were still alive and your stuff is not, so that’s a different case.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Damn, that sucks big time! I hope you can get some cheap and nice new stuff.
    You might consider Xenos too, much cheaper than Blokker from what I know🙂
    I can imagine that you were scared shitless! I had it once when both (!!!) of my bookshelves (which are actually 5 rows each) came down (they were hanging on the wall)…in the middle of the night.
    I totally didn’t know what was happening haha…But afterwards I couldn’t stop laughing…
    But my books were still alive and your stuff is not, so that’s a different case.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Damn, that sucks big time! I hope you can get some cheap and nice new stuff.
    You might consider Xenos too, much cheaper than Blokker from what I know🙂
    I can imagine that you were scared shitless! I had it once when both (!!!) of my bookshelves (which are actually 5 rows each) came down (they were hanging on the wall)…in the middle of the night.
    I totally didn’t know what was happening haha…But afterwards I couldn’t stop laughing…
    But my books were still alive and your stuff is not, so that’s a different case.
    xx lotte

    • I know! If all my books had felt, I would have been mad, since some of them would have gotten hurt, but for that one crappy shelf with all the fragile stuff on it to fall down really sucks. I don’t really have time to go all the way into the city, that’s why I was considering Blokker (the one by the AHXL). If it’s really expensive I’ll go to the Xenos anyway.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Damn, that sucks big time! I hope you can get some cheap and nice new stuff.
    You might consider Xenos too, much cheaper than Blokker from what I know🙂
    I can imagine that you were scared shitless! I had it once when both (!!!) of my bookshelves (which are actually 5 rows each) came down (they were hanging on the wall)…in the middle of the night.
    I totally didn’t know what was happening haha…But afterwards I couldn’t stop laughing…
    But my books were still alive and your stuff is not, so that’s a different case.
    xx lotte

    • I know! If all my books had felt, I would have been mad, since some of them would have gotten hurt, but for that one crappy shelf with all the fragile stuff on it to fall down really sucks. I don’t really have time to go all the way into the city, that’s why I was considering Blokker (the one by the AHXL). If it’s really expensive I’ll go to the Xenos anyway.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Damn, that sucks big time! I hope you can get some cheap and nice new stuff.
    You might consider Xenos too, much cheaper than Blokker from what I know🙂
    I can imagine that you were scared shitless! I had it once when both (!!!) of my bookshelves (which are actually 5 rows each) came down (they were hanging on the wall)…in the middle of the night.
    I totally didn’t know what was happening haha…But afterwards I couldn’t stop laughing…
    But my books were still alive and your stuff is not, so that’s a different case.
    xx lotte

    • I know! If all my books had felt, I would have been mad, since some of them would have gotten hurt, but for that one crappy shelf with all the fragile stuff on it to fall down really sucks. I don’t really have time to go all the way into the city, that’s why I was considering Blokker (the one by the AHXL). If it’s really expensive I’ll go to the Xenos anyway.

Leave a Reply

