Bookpost!

reading: The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls 

I just finished two anthologies. One of a collection of nonfiction, about a variety of subjects, called The New Kings of Nonfiction, edited by Ira Glass. I hear Ira Glass every week on the podcast version of This American Life, which I love, so I asked my sister to bring me back his book (she visited by dad over the Christmasbreak). And while not all the stories interested me as much (if you can’t play poker, a story about a poker championship is less interesting, and I skipped one about a radio talkshow because I didn’t like the writer’s style) almost all of them had the same quality that makes TAL so interesting: some extraordinary found in ordinary people’s lives. 

The second anthology I finished was The Worst Years of Your Life, edited by Mark Jude Poirer. Again, not all the stories were my cup of tea, but most writers really captured that teenage angst. And I have a new list of authors I need to check out, such as A.M. Holmes.
(hope you can see this!)

Both of these are really good books you should read one day! (if anyone wants, they can borrow my copy..)

6 thoughts on “Bookpost!

  1. Anonymous says:

    ira glass
    heyhey,
    I’d actually like to borrow your copy of The new kings of non-fiction. Should be possible, seeing as I brought it for you:). Ben toch wel benieuwd na al die moeite…
    bel me gauw als je weer tijd hebt,
    je zusje

    • Re: ira glass
      Lijkt me goed! Ik bel je morgen, okay? Vanavond was de kennismaking van het nieuwe bestuur met elkaar, vandaar dat ik niet opnam. Hoe is je rugby gegaan?

  2. Anonymous says:

    ira glass
    heyhey,
    I’d actually like to borrow your copy of The new kings of non-fiction. Should be possible, seeing as I brought it for you:). Ben toch wel benieuwd na al die moeite…
    bel me gauw als je weer tijd hebt,
    je zusje

    • Re: ira glass
      Lijkt me goed! Ik bel je morgen, okay? Vanavond was de kennismaking van het nieuwe bestuur met elkaar, vandaar dat ik niet opnam. Hoe is je rugby gegaan?

  3. Anonymous says:

    ira glass
    heyhey,
    I’d actually like to borrow your copy of The new kings of non-fiction. Should be possible, seeing as I brought it for you:). Ben toch wel benieuwd na al die moeite…
    bel me gauw als je weer tijd hebt,
    je zusje

    • Re: ira glass
      Lijkt me goed! Ik bel je morgen, okay? Vanavond was de kennismaking van het nieuwe bestuur met elkaar, vandaar dat ik niet opnam. Hoe is je rugby gegaan?

Leave a Reply

