The Glass Castle

reading: The Israel Lobby and U.S. Foreign Policy, by John J. Mearsheimer and  Stephen M. Walt

Glass Castle

I just finished The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls. I think it is one of the best books I have read in a while. Walls describes her eccentric, exciting, and somewhat deprived childhood in a way that appeals to me: no whining about all the bad things that happened, just a description of the way things were. She really got me inside her memories, and I was rooting for her all along. The only thing I have to be critical about is that she describes her childhood in detail, but only sketches her teenage-adult years in NYC. I was interested in how she made it from Welch, West Virginia, to Park Avenue, New York. She kind of skimmed over her experiences in NY, focusing on a few memories of her family from that period. But I loved the book so much I put it on my “you have to read this!” list, and I’m pretty sure this book won’t be on my shelves for long – I’ll find someone to loan it to. 

3 thoughts on “The Glass Castle

  1. i’ve been looking for a new book to read for some time now. i think i’ll check this out :].
    i generally like books like this. i really enjoy augusten burroughs books, but it might be slightly less advanced than these… i’ll see!
    thanks for the suggestion.

  2. i’ve been looking for a new book to read for some time now. i think i’ll check this out :].
    i generally like books like this. i really enjoy augusten burroughs books, but it might be slightly less advanced than these… i’ll see!
    thanks for the suggestion.

  3. i’ve been looking for a new book to read for some time now. i think i’ll check this out :].
    i generally like books like this. i really enjoy augusten burroughs books, but it might be slightly less advanced than these… i’ll see!
    thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

