And so I type a post for the third freaking time. As they say in Dutch: een ezel stoot zich niet twee keer aan dezelfde steen . Hmm.

This week, I read two amazing books. The first one was Atonement, by Ian McEwan. This book really made an impact on me, which is funny because I picked it up and put it down again in one insanely busy weekend, and then forgot all about it. I finally picked it up again last week, and I found I didn’t want to stop reading! It was one of those books where you can’t wait for the last page, because you really want to find out if it’s a happy ending (and suspect it won’t be), but at the same time, you dread that last page because that means you have to leave the characters behind. McEwan sure knows how to write!

 Book 2 for March and 21 for 2008

The second book was in Dutch, funnily enough. It’s not often I read Dutch, so calling it amazing really is a high compliment, coming from me. I read Een Spaans Hondje, by Rascha Peper. I had read two other books of her (Wie Scheep Gaat -containing blue duckies, so I couldn’t help but love it- and Dooi) so I was looking forward to this one. And she didn’t disappoint me in the slightest.

 Book 3 for March and 22 for 2008.
Rascha Peper really has the ability to make her characters come alive. I felt I had understood the essence of Victor, Felix and Pleuntje. She even made me feel sorry for Jasper and Ella, not because of their circumstances, but because of who they were, and how they would never be happy (at least not in my opinion).

I highly recommend both books. And to end this post, I’m listing the books I read in February. 

1. Special Topics in Calamity Physics – Marisha Pessl
2. Sultana – Jean Sasson
3. Omerta – Mario Puzo
4. Never Let Me Go – Kazuo  Ishiguro
5. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
6. The Woman Warrior – Maxine Hong Kingston
7. The Big Over Easy – Jasper Fforde
8. The Partly Clouded Patriot – Sarah Vowell

And that concludes this very long bookpost.

12 thoughts on “

  1. ok… I confess: I admire people who can read two books a week just for the fun of it. I used to read 3-4 books a week when I was a kid but somehow I lost the fun of reading when I was in highschool and had to read.
    These days I just can’t bring myself to read anymore and frankly, I miss that sense of forgetting the world around you while get lost in the story.
    BTW – Atonement, is that the book from the movie?

    • Atonement – that’s the movie from the book🙂 So yes. Now I can go see it (hypothetically, since I don’t have time)
      And I finished both books in the train. I read a lot more when I go visit people in Groningen! Maybe I should do it more often🙂

  2. ok… I confess: I admire people who can read two books a week just for the fun of it. I used to read 3-4 books a week when I was a kid but somehow I lost the fun of reading when I was in highschool and had to read.
    These days I just can’t bring myself to read anymore and frankly, I miss that sense of forgetting the world around you while get lost in the story.
    BTW – Atonement, is that the book from the movie?

    • Atonement – that’s the movie from the book🙂 So yes. Now I can go see it (hypothetically, since I don’t have time)
      And I finished both books in the train. I read a lot more when I go visit people in Groningen! Maybe I should do it more often🙂

  3. ok… I confess: I admire people who can read two books a week just for the fun of it. I used to read 3-4 books a week when I was a kid but somehow I lost the fun of reading when I was in highschool and had to read.
    These days I just can’t bring myself to read anymore and frankly, I miss that sense of forgetting the world around you while get lost in the story.
    BTW – Atonement, is that the book from the movie?

    • Atonement – that’s the movie from the book🙂 So yes. Now I can go see it (hypothetically, since I don’t have time)
      And I finished both books in the train. I read a lot more when I go visit people in Groningen! Maybe I should do it more often🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    I wanna read Atonement too. Downloaded the movie already, but I kinda don’t pick up books when I see the movie first, so I need to read the book and afterwards see the movie…lol. But no Saskia, you don’t have to bring it, since I’m way behind on your books already hahaha😉 xxx Lotte

  5. Anonymous says:

    I wanna read Atonement too. Downloaded the movie already, but I kinda don’t pick up books when I see the movie first, so I need to read the book and afterwards see the movie…lol. But no Saskia, you don’t have to bring it, since I’m way behind on your books already hahaha😉 xxx Lotte

  6. Anonymous says:

    I wanna read Atonement too. Downloaded the movie already, but I kinda don’t pick up books when I see the movie first, so I need to read the book and afterwards see the movie…lol. But no Saskia, you don’t have to bring it, since I’m way behind on your books already hahaha😉 xxx Lotte

Leave a Reply

