Book 24 and 25 of 2008

 So this week I finished two books again. The first one was The Moon Is Down, by John Steinbeck.
The Moon is Down by John SteinbeckBook 5 of March
I enjoyed it, and read it in a day. I hadn’t read anything by Steinbeck before, and now I’m wondering why not. I thought the Mayor was the most dignified character I’ve ever seen, and Steinbeck even had me feeling sorry for the soldiers. Plus, he managed to incorporate some humor into such a tragic subject, and did it with solemnity and respect. As soon as I finish some of my required reading, I’ll be reading another Steinbeck. 

The second book was quite a different one. A friend of mine was reading Stephen King’s Firestarter  a while ago, and she lent it to me. Charlie and her dad sometimes scared me, but not half as much as the men from the shop did. If you like horror or Stephen King, you’ll like this. Funnily enough King never gives me nightmares, probably because he does a lot of stuff with psychic powers, and I’m not half as afraid of telekinesis as I am of burglars, ax murders, and those other misfits that appear on crime shows.

   Book 6 of March  

6 thoughts on “Book 24 and 25 of 2008

  1. I read Steinbeck more than a decade ago for my “boekenlijst” and although I can’t remember much more than the novel being about 3 lazy Mexicans I do remember that I loved reading it. *g* Should you be interested, the title is “Tortilla Flat” 😉

    • Great! I have “The Grapes of Wrath” in my bookcase, so I figured I’d start with that, but afterwards I’ll do “Tortilla Flat”. I had noticed it somewhere, I think, I remember the title.

  2. I read Steinbeck more than a decade ago for my “boekenlijst” and although I can’t remember much more than the novel being about 3 lazy Mexicans I do remember that I loved reading it. *g* Should you be interested, the title is “Tortilla Flat” 😉

    • Great! I have “The Grapes of Wrath” in my bookcase, so I figured I’d start with that, but afterwards I’ll do “Tortilla Flat”. I had noticed it somewhere, I think, I remember the title.

  3. I read Steinbeck more than a decade ago for my “boekenlijst” and although I can’t remember much more than the novel being about 3 lazy Mexicans I do remember that I loved reading it. *g* Should you be interested, the title is “Tortilla Flat” 😉

    • Great! I have “The Grapes of Wrath” in my bookcase, so I figured I’d start with that, but afterwards I’ll do “Tortilla Flat”. I had noticed it somewhere, I think, I remember the title.

Leave a Reply

