I’ve finally read it. After months of people asking me if I’d read it, I can finally reply, ‘yes’.
 And it was worth the wait. Some parts I had to close my eyes and breathe for a second, and sometimes I wondered how all of it was going to come together, but it really gave me a view of Afghanistan I didn’t have before. What I found especially thoughtworthy was how this all happened in the recent past. The dates of each chapter weren’t 1843, or 1624, but 1979 and even 2001 and 2003. How can those kind of state-sanctioned horrific things happen in this day and age? Poor Mariam.

reading: The Book of Air and Shadows by Michel Gruber

12 thoughts on “

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’ve only read the Kite Runner right now, which I thought was amazing too. It gives so much insight in a culture that we always think we know because of the things in the media, but we actually don’t have a clue at all! I’ll have to read this one too! (when I have time)

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’ve only read the Kite Runner right now, which I thought was amazing too. It gives so much insight in a culture that we always think we know because of the things in the media, but we actually don’t have a clue at all! I’ll have to read this one too! (when I have time)

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’ve only read the Kite Runner right now, which I thought was amazing too. It gives so much insight in a culture that we always think we know because of the things in the media, but we actually don’t have a clue at all! I’ll have to read this one too! (when I have time)

  4. I’ve been thinking about reading this book for ages, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Reading your reaction to it makes me feel that maybe I should make time…

    • I kept procrastinating it because everyone here was reading the Dutch translation, and I wanted the original English version. Then I got it for my birthday, and was finally able to put in on my ‘books-I’ve-read’ list.

  5. I’ve been thinking about reading this book for ages, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Reading your reaction to it makes me feel that maybe I should make time…

    • I kept procrastinating it because everyone here was reading the Dutch translation, and I wanted the original English version. Then I got it for my birthday, and was finally able to put in on my ‘books-I’ve-read’ list.

  6. I’ve been thinking about reading this book for ages, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Reading your reaction to it makes me feel that maybe I should make time…

    • I kept procrastinating it because everyone here was reading the Dutch translation, and I wanted the original English version. Then I got it for my birthday, and was finally able to put in on my ‘books-I’ve-read’ list.

Leave a Reply

