number 29

reading: The Known World, by Edward P. Jones

For the last few days, I had been devouring Michael Gruber’s The Book of Air and Shadows. The back flap likened it to The Da Vinci Code, which first made me apprehensive, but it all worked out okay in the end. I’ve read a great number of Dan Brown’s books, and they were all written through a specific formula, and thus manage to be pretty much the same IMO, even though they have different characters who discover different secrets. Luckily, I haven’t read anything else by Gruber, so I could enjoy his style.

number 29 of 2008 and 10 of March

It was really very suspensful, and it kept me hooked until the end. It was kind of confusing though, and I doubt I understand all the plot twists or how all the characters came together (or if the manuscript is, in fact, real). It’s not on my list of favorite books, but if you like substantial thriller type books and want to learn something about ciphers and Shakespeare, you might want to read it. 

Leave a Reply

