Book 30

Can't Wait to Get to Heaven: A Novel (Ballantine Reader's Circle)Yesterday I finished Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, by Fannie Flagg. I have read all her books (Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!, Standing in the Rainbow and A Redbird Christmas), and was glad I could add this one to the list. It’s not one of my favorites, because it has a weak plot IMO (it mainly gives you an update on how everyone has been doing since the last book) but I did enjoy reading about all those characters again. Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven does have what makes me like Flagg’s books so much: her characters are all unique and come alive on the page. I liked Aunt Elner and her simple philosophy of life very much, and was sad to see her go.

Leave a Reply

