Being a literature student makes for very special dilemmas, namely, what to read? Right now, I have four books I read to read for various classes, and four more for my BA thesis: 

Disgrace by JM Coetzee (Multiculturalism in South Africa)
The Blind Assassin by Margeret Atwood (Canadian Literature)
The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields (Canadian Literature)
In the Skin of a Lion by Michel Ondaatje (Canadian Literature)
Their Dogs Came With Them by Helena Maria Viramontes (BA thesis)
Face of an Angel by Denise Chavez (BA thesis)
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez (BA thesis)
The Moths by Helena Maria Viramontes (BA thesis)

I should probably start with Disgrace, since I need to write a paper on that before May 6. I’ll read that one and one of the books for Canadian Lit at the same time, then move on to Their Dogs Came With Them when I’ve finished Disgrace. Or something like that.

I wonder if I’ll be able to keep all the plots straight?

Leave a Reply

