Day 1

Summerwrite started today. Summerwrite is a challenge in the tradition of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), in which an entire internet community dares itself to write a complete novel in four months: 150,000 words. I needed to get back into a writing rhythm, so I thought I’d give it a shot. Hopefully, it’ll also give me material I can use in applying to grad schools for the master in fine arts in creative writing I desperately want. It took me almost an hour and a half, but I’ve got my first 1700 words. I need about 1200 a day, so I’m right on schedule. (it would be really bad to fall behind on the first day…)

1760 / 150000 words. 1% done!

not very encouraging, is it…

6 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love the whole idea! So can you give a little hint on the subject you’re writing about? I’m so curious and can’t wait to hear all about it! I’m so gonna have a famous friend in a few years😀 xx Lotte

    • Um, the best I can do is (I really suck at summaries of my stories) is an attempt at a Great American Breakup/Coming of Age Novel (my dad always says to shoot for the moon, if you miss you’ll land among the stars so I thought I’d be ambitious). Not much help I think, but I’ll post parts as soon as I edit them into something halfway decent.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I love the whole idea! So can you give a little hint on the subject you’re writing about? I’m so curious and can’t wait to hear all about it! I’m so gonna have a famous friend in a few years😀 xx Lotte

    • Um, the best I can do is (I really suck at summaries of my stories) is an attempt at a Great American Breakup/Coming of Age Novel (my dad always says to shoot for the moon, if you miss you’ll land among the stars so I thought I’d be ambitious). Not much help I think, but I’ll post parts as soon as I edit them into something halfway decent.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I love the whole idea! So can you give a little hint on the subject you’re writing about? I’m so curious and can’t wait to hear all about it! I’m so gonna have a famous friend in a few years😀 xx Lotte

    • Um, the best I can do is (I really suck at summaries of my stories) is an attempt at a Great American Breakup/Coming of Age Novel (my dad always says to shoot for the moon, if you miss you’ll land among the stars so I thought I’d be ambitious). Not much help I think, but I’ll post parts as soon as I edit them into something halfway decent.

Leave a Reply

