I had to read The Blind Assassin, by Margaret Atwood, for my Canadian Literature class this week. I enjoyed the read, even though my edition was 600+ pages long, and some parts were drawn out too long in my opinion. I liked how she incorporated all those story lines and different levels of narration, and thought she pulled them off pretty well. We were scheduled to have a guest lecture by an Atwood expert, and I was looking forward to that. Unfortunately, the guest lecturer wanted to share a bit too much information with us, which meant we wrote for three hours straight, flipping from back to front and back again in the book to understand all her references and sometimes obscure points. I resolved then and there never to go into academics; I like reading too much for that.

I had read The Handmaid’s Tale, by the same author, while on roadtrip, and I enjoyed that one even more than The Blind Assassin. It has to do with both religion and feminism, subjects I am both interested in, especially the interaction of the two. So it was right up my alley. While searching for a picture to put on this blog, I saw it had been made into a movie in 1990. I might see if I can find that somewhere, it should be interesting to see what they did with Atwood’s writing.

27 thoughts on “

  1. Ow… that class sounded tiring – were you able to feel your arm at all afterwards? I agree with you tho, sometimes it’s just better NOT to hear every detail in a book being explained.
    It was one of my frustrations with the literature classes we had. I often found I interpreted things differently but it was often brushed aside. šŸ˜¦
    PS: are you hotlinking with those images? :O

    • Am I hotlinking? I’m copy pasting, if that answers your question. You know how shockingly little I know about the internet and those kind of things.

      • uho… in that case you’re hotlinking. Baaaaaaaaaaad missy! šŸ˜‰
        Here’s the wikipedia explanation:
        Hot-linking is a term used on the Internet. Hot-linking is when someone uses a link to an image that is saved on another website instead of saving a copy of the image on the website that the picture will be shown on.
        For example, instead of saving picture.gif and loading it on to their own website, the person uses a link to the picture as http://website.com/picture.gif. Hot-linking uses the bandwidth of the person who owns the website where the picture is stored. This costs that person money.
        This is why many website owners are using .htaccess files and uploading it to their websites.

  2. Ow… that class sounded tiring – were you able to feel your arm at all afterwards? I agree with you tho, sometimes it’s just better NOT to hear every detail in a book being explained.
    It was one of my frustrations with the literature classes we had. I often found I interpreted things differently but it was often brushed aside. šŸ˜¦
    PS: are you hotlinking with those images? :O

    • Am I hotlinking? I’m copy pasting, if that answers your question. You know how shockingly little I know about the internet and those kind of things.

      • uho… in that case you’re hotlinking. Baaaaaaaaaaad missy! šŸ˜‰
        Here’s the wikipedia explanation:
        Hot-linking is a term used on the Internet. Hot-linking is when someone uses a link to an image that is saved on another website instead of saving a copy of the image on the website that the picture will be shown on.
        For example, instead of saving picture.gif and loading it on to their own website, the person uses a link to the picture as http://website.com/picture.gif. Hot-linking uses the bandwidth of the person who owns the website where the picture is stored. This costs that person money.
        This is why many website owners are using .htaccess files and uploading it to their websites.

  3. Ow… that class sounded tiring – were you able to feel your arm at all afterwards? I agree with you tho, sometimes it’s just better NOT to hear every detail in a book being explained.
    It was one of my frustrations with the literature classes we had. I often found I interpreted things differently but it was often brushed aside. šŸ˜¦
    PS: are you hotlinking with those images? :O

    • Am I hotlinking? I’m copy pasting, if that answers your question. You know how shockingly little I know about the internet and those kind of things.

      • uho… in that case you’re hotlinking. Baaaaaaaaaaad missy! šŸ˜‰
        Here’s the wikipedia explanation:
        Hot-linking is a term used on the Internet. Hot-linking is when someone uses a link to an image that is saved on another website instead of saving a copy of the image on the website that the picture will be shown on.
        For example, instead of saving picture.gif and loading it on to their own website, the person uses a link to the picture as http://website.com/picture.gif. Hot-linking uses the bandwidth of the person who owns the website where the picture is stored. This costs that person money.
        This is why many website owners are using .htaccess files and uploading it to their websites.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I might pick up The Handmaid’s Tale to read somewhere during summer….I’m still struggling with the Blind Assassin right now. After that guestlecture I am not really motivated anymore to go on reading haha xxx Lotte

  5. Anonymous says:

    I might pick up The Handmaid’s Tale to read somewhere during summer….I’m still struggling with the Blind Assassin right now. After that guestlecture I am not really motivated anymore to go on reading haha xxx Lotte

  6. Anonymous says:

    I might pick up The Handmaid’s Tale to read somewhere during summer….I’m still struggling with the Blind Assassin right now. After that guestlecture I am not really motivated anymore to go on reading haha xxx Lotte

Leave a Reply

