Just several random thoughts:

-the coldness of water is relative: after swimming in the unheated outside pool, the pool inside seemed positively tropical! We vowed never to complain again that the water inside was cold…however, after the first shock and hint of frostbite had worn off, I thoroughly enjoyed swimming without the overpowering smell of chlorine.

-taking several courses on Multiculturalism leads to a different way of looking at the world. Even the soccer game I watched on Friday was analyzed on its multicultural content…

-need a new book to read? Try Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day, by Winifred Watson. It’s funny and delightfully old-fashioned!

-want to be reminded of the pointlessness of violence and the fact that life could be over before you know it? (but in a very nice artistic way?) watch “Elephant”, directed by Gus van Sant. I finally got around to watching it last Sunday, and though I can’t say I enjoyed it (how does one enjoy a movie about school shootings?) I did think it was well worth the time spent

12 thoughts on “

  1. Anonymous says:

    Multicultural soccer
    About your comment on multiculturalism (what a word) and soccer… I was wondering whether it was positive or negative towards the courses you’re taking. Because I have experienced similar things with literary courses and reading, and the pop culture course and watching TV… And to be honest, I wasn’t all that thrilled about my new way of looking at things… lol😉

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: Multicultural soccer
      Okay, sorry, that’s from me (Gina). Because I can’t seem to get the OpenID thing working on my end… Sorry about the double-post.
      Gina

    • Re: Multicultural soccer
      I don’t really mind, it’s kind of weird sometimes, (I was sitting outside with a friend on Saturday, and she said she loved looking at all the different people outside, and my mind flew to multiculti crap, because I immediately thought, but there are only white people here! and she just meant ‘mensenkijken’). But I try to keep a handle on it🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Multicultural soccer
    About your comment on multiculturalism (what a word) and soccer… I was wondering whether it was positive or negative towards the courses you’re taking. Because I have experienced similar things with literary courses and reading, and the pop culture course and watching TV… And to be honest, I wasn’t all that thrilled about my new way of looking at things… lol😉

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: Multicultural soccer
      Okay, sorry, that’s from me (Gina). Because I can’t seem to get the OpenID thing working on my end… Sorry about the double-post.
      Gina

    • Re: Multicultural soccer
      I don’t really mind, it’s kind of weird sometimes, (I was sitting outside with a friend on Saturday, and she said she loved looking at all the different people outside, and my mind flew to multiculti crap, because I immediately thought, but there are only white people here! and she just meant ‘mensenkijken’). But I try to keep a handle on it🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    Multicultural soccer
    About your comment on multiculturalism (what a word) and soccer… I was wondering whether it was positive or negative towards the courses you’re taking. Because I have experienced similar things with literary courses and reading, and the pop culture course and watching TV… And to be honest, I wasn’t all that thrilled about my new way of looking at things… lol😉

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: Multicultural soccer
      Okay, sorry, that’s from me (Gina). Because I can’t seem to get the OpenID thing working on my end… Sorry about the double-post.
      Gina

    • Re: Multicultural soccer
      I don’t really mind, it’s kind of weird sometimes, (I was sitting outside with a friend on Saturday, and she said she loved looking at all the different people outside, and my mind flew to multiculti crap, because I immediately thought, but there are only white people here! and she just meant ‘mensenkijken’). But I try to keep a handle on it🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    I watched Elephant a few years ago…I thought it was a pretty ‘slow’ movie…but it was good! xxx Lot

  5. Anonymous says:

    I watched Elephant a few years ago…I thought it was a pretty ‘slow’ movie…but it was good! xxx Lot

  6. Anonymous says:

    I watched Elephant a few years ago…I thought it was a pretty ‘slow’ movie…but it was good! xxx Lot

Leave a Reply

