An update on my what-to-read-list:

Disgrace by JM Coetzee (Multiculturalism in South Africa
The Blind Assassin by Margeret Atwood (Canadian Literature)
The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields (Canadian Literature)
In the Skin of a Lion by Michel Ondaatje (Canadian Literature)
Their Dogs Came With Them by Helena Maria Viramontes (BA thesis)
Face of an Angel by Denise Chavez (BA thesis)
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez (BA thesis)
The Moths by Helena Maria Viramontes (BA thesis)
To this list can be added:
If you liked school you’ll love work by Irvine Welsh
Digging for America by Anne Tyler
The Dante Club by Matthew Pearl
Alle Verhalen by Rascha Peper
Arsene-Lupin, Gentleman Thief by Maurice Leblanc

and many more I can’t recall right now…luckily these last books are all for fun. But as soon as I finish my three take home exams and BA thesis I’m digging into the others!

30 thoughts on “

  1. Anonymous says:

    Wow, impressive list. Somehow I’m always a little ashamed of my own list, fantasy and sci-fi, and impressed by other one’s lists without the fantasy and sci-fi. Don’t ask me why, though, I shouldn’t be, I know. I wonder about the title by Irvin Welsh, though. I’m not so sure it works that way, but maybe, who knows😉 I sure hope so, haha.
    Gina

    • He wrote Trainspotting..so it’s kinda weird. The first story was extreme, about two guys and a girl in a tent by the side of the road, the guy gets bitten by a rattlesnake in his dick, the girl won’t suck out the venom so the guy does it, they get ‘caught’ by a bitter Mexican and he makes him suck the other guy with a gun against his head. I skipped the story after that..:)
      Usually my lists are a little different too, this was a school-based one, that helps🙂

      • Anonymous says:

        Ah, a school list, yes, that helps. Haha. I used to have impressive lists like that. But you (and some others) are also very enthousiastic about things that you earn extra ECTS points, which makes me just lazy, lol. Oh well, I’ll just focus on my BA thesis and then I’ll be done. Guess what I’m reading now… Translation as a Science (it’s in Dutch, though) plus another one on translation. It’s okay, but I don’t feel like doing that during the summer😦 sucks.
        And that story sounds… YUCH! Seriously, how does one come up with that? That’s just sick…
        Gina

        • I don’t earn extra ects, I don’t think. All my courses are either part of my minor or still part of my vrije minor from the first semester…but I get your point. Good luck with your translation thingy..

  2. Anonymous says:

    Wow, impressive list. Somehow I’m always a little ashamed of my own list, fantasy and sci-fi, and impressed by other one’s lists without the fantasy and sci-fi. Don’t ask me why, though, I shouldn’t be, I know. I wonder about the title by Irvin Welsh, though. I’m not so sure it works that way, but maybe, who knows😉 I sure hope so, haha.
    Gina

    • He wrote Trainspotting..so it’s kinda weird. The first story was extreme, about two guys and a girl in a tent by the side of the road, the guy gets bitten by a rattlesnake in his dick, the girl won’t suck out the venom so the guy does it, they get ‘caught’ by a bitter Mexican and he makes him suck the other guy with a gun against his head. I skipped the story after that..:)
      Usually my lists are a little different too, this was a school-based one, that helps🙂

      • Anonymous says:

        Ah, a school list, yes, that helps. Haha. I used to have impressive lists like that. But you (and some others) are also very enthousiastic about things that you earn extra ECTS points, which makes me just lazy, lol. Oh well, I’ll just focus on my BA thesis and then I’ll be done. Guess what I’m reading now… Translation as a Science (it’s in Dutch, though) plus another one on translation. It’s okay, but I don’t feel like doing that during the summer😦 sucks.
        And that story sounds… YUCH! Seriously, how does one come up with that? That’s just sick…
        Gina

        • I don’t earn extra ects, I don’t think. All my courses are either part of my minor or still part of my vrije minor from the first semester…but I get your point. Good luck with your translation thingy..

  3. Anonymous says:

    Wow, impressive list. Somehow I’m always a little ashamed of my own list, fantasy and sci-fi, and impressed by other one’s lists without the fantasy and sci-fi. Don’t ask me why, though, I shouldn’t be, I know. I wonder about the title by Irvin Welsh, though. I’m not so sure it works that way, but maybe, who knows😉 I sure hope so, haha.
    Gina

    • He wrote Trainspotting..so it’s kinda weird. The first story was extreme, about two guys and a girl in a tent by the side of the road, the guy gets bitten by a rattlesnake in his dick, the girl won’t suck out the venom so the guy does it, they get ‘caught’ by a bitter Mexican and he makes him suck the other guy with a gun against his head. I skipped the story after that..:)
      Usually my lists are a little different too, this was a school-based one, that helps🙂

      • Anonymous says:

        Ah, a school list, yes, that helps. Haha. I used to have impressive lists like that. But you (and some others) are also very enthousiastic about things that you earn extra ECTS points, which makes me just lazy, lol. Oh well, I’ll just focus on my BA thesis and then I’ll be done. Guess what I’m reading now… Translation as a Science (it’s in Dutch, though) plus another one on translation. It’s okay, but I don’t feel like doing that during the summer😦 sucks.
        And that story sounds… YUCH! Seriously, how does one come up with that? That’s just sick…
        Gina

        • I don’t earn extra ects, I don’t think. All my courses are either part of my minor or still part of my vrije minor from the first semester…but I get your point. Good luck with your translation thingy..

  4. Anonymous says:

    I’m getting a pretty long summer reading list as well, but I probably won’t get to many of them because of my stupid thesis…but what can I say…that’s life😉
    The trainspotting guy/story sounds creepy…don’t know if I wanna read that kinda stuff lol…

  5. Anonymous says:

    I’m getting a pretty long summer reading list as well, but I probably won’t get to many of them because of my stupid thesis…but what can I say…that’s life😉
    The trainspotting guy/story sounds creepy…don’t know if I wanna read that kinda stuff lol…

  6. Anonymous says:

    I’m getting a pretty long summer reading list as well, but I probably won’t get to many of them because of my stupid thesis…but what can I say…that’s life😉
    The trainspotting guy/story sounds creepy…don’t know if I wanna read that kinda stuff lol…

  7. Anonymous says:

    oh and that was me again…Lotte…you should fix your comment field and enable ‘name/url’ thingy so I can enter my name and site…:p

    • Anonymous says:

      Gina
      Haha, I know that problem. But is it possible to change that? Would be good… Go Saskia, Go!😉 Or maybe we just need to put our name in the subject area, that could help. Here… I’ll try.
      Good luck with your theses, both of you!

  8. Anonymous says:

    oh and that was me again…Lotte…you should fix your comment field and enable ‘name/url’ thingy so I can enter my name and site…:p

    • Anonymous says:

      Gina
      Haha, I know that problem. But is it possible to change that? Would be good… Go Saskia, Go!😉 Or maybe we just need to put our name in the subject area, that could help. Here… I’ll try.
      Good luck with your theses, both of you!

  9. Anonymous says:

    oh and that was me again…Lotte…you should fix your comment field and enable ‘name/url’ thingy so I can enter my name and site…:p

    • Anonymous says:

      Gina
      Haha, I know that problem. But is it possible to change that? Would be good… Go Saskia, Go!😉 Or maybe we just need to put our name in the subject area, that could help. Here… I’ll try.
      Good luck with your theses, both of you!

  10. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    oh yeah great idea Gina, didn’t think of that yet…so problem solved🙂
    The picknick bag is not purple…but it’s still cute, it has a flower pattern (blueish) and red/white blocks on it…it’s cool, I love it😀

  11. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    oh yeah great idea Gina, didn’t think of that yet…so problem solved🙂
    The picknick bag is not purple…but it’s still cute, it has a flower pattern (blueish) and red/white blocks on it…it’s cool, I love it😀

  12. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    oh yeah great idea Gina, didn’t think of that yet…so problem solved🙂
    The picknick bag is not purple…but it’s still cute, it has a flower pattern (blueish) and red/white blocks on it…it’s cool, I love it😀

Leave a Reply

