Books I’ve read since my last bookpost update:

The Dante Club, by Matthew Pearl
Not a bad book at all. I enjoyed it because I’ve read Dante’s Divine Comedy and liked the references in the book. It’s pretty suspenseful and also well-written. 

How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents, by Julia Alvarez
This one is for my BA thesis, and although analyzing a book takes some of the fun out of reading, I thouroghly enjoyed reading it. Alvarez tells the Garcia family’s story well, giving us insight into the thoughts and lives of all six Garcias.

In The Skin of a Lion, by Michael Ondaatje
I read this one for my Canadian Literature class, and didn’t really enjoy it. Ondaatje’s writing doesn’t grip me at all, though that’s probably a taste issue. There’s nothing wrong with the book, it just wasn’t my thing.

Martin Misunderstood, by Karen Slaughter
Please, don’t read this book. The plot is weird and far-fetched, it’s confusing and way too graphic. I read it on the train because I had nothing else to do, otherwise I would have thrown it out of the window after the first chapter.

Right now I’m reading Short Stories by Latin American Women: the Magic and the Real, edited by Celia Correas de Zapata. I’m really enjoying this small anthology – the stories are gripping, well-written and well-translated and I like the hint of magic in each story. I’m beginning to really appreciate Latin American writers.

Leave a Reply

