Today my mom and I went to the Drents Museum to have a look at the Chinese terracotta army displayed there. Starting in the fourth or fifth century BC, Chinese emperors started taking terracotta soldiers, servants, animals, gifts etc with them into their enormous mausoleums (before, they had taken real humans with them, but soon realized human sacrifices were a waste of manpower and turned to fake ones instead). The Chinese believed there was life after death, and thus the elite needed to be able to live on in death as they had in life. There was even an river with all kinds of waterfowl and fish. It was the recreation of an entire empire underground.

It was really neat because all the statues had been made individually all those thousands of years ago, so each soldier had a different face. And those graves were huge! We’re talking walls that were already 8 meters thick, and the entire grave spanned a length of thousands of meters. (which made me think that it wouldn’t even have been possible in Holland – we just don’t have that kind of space!)

Anyway, it was really busy but we were early and managed to see the life-sized statues before the crowd arrived. It’s kind of out of the way for most people, but if you’re in or near Assen before September, you should totally go.

3 thoughts on “

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    I saw something of that on tv, it sounded and looked very interesting. Cool that you went to check it out in person. Maybe I’ll go too somewhere this summer if I have time🙂 It’s not that far away from me I guess.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    I saw something of that on tv, it sounded and looked very interesting. Cool that you went to check it out in person. Maybe I’ll go too somewhere this summer if I have time🙂 It’s not that far away from me I guess.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    I saw something of that on tv, it sounded and looked very interesting. Cool that you went to check it out in person. Maybe I’ll go too somewhere this summer if I have time🙂 It’s not that far away from me I guess.

Leave a Reply

