Yet again a bookpost

I just went on a five-day camping trip with my family in the Big Trees State Park in Calaveras, CA, so naturally this post is about…books. Yes, another one. I think I have fully revealed myself to be a bibliophile since I’m sharing my reads with you and not any amount of gorgeous nature (which, incidentally, I did see and enjoy). Anyway, between hiking, lying on the beach (first almost getting frostbite from the severly cold water and afterwards getting burned by the hot hot sun), campfires and lovely bbq-ed food, I managed to read the following under the big trees:

The Book of Lost Things , by John Connolly
An enjoyable book, especially the twisted fairy tales. The ending seemed a little flat to my liking, although, to be fair, David had already fought the battle and any information on what happens to him afterwards is a bonus.

All Saints , by Liam Callahan
I loved this book right until the end. I would have pegged Callahan for a woman if I hadn’t known better, he wrote so insightfully about Emily’s life and thoughts and struggles. If you know anything about the Catholic faith I’d recommend this book, otherwise some of the religious terminology might be a bit confusing.

Right now I’m working on If I Die in a Combat Zone , by Tim O’Brien. I’ve read and enjoyed The Things They Carried and Going After Cacciato by the same author, so I should enjoy this one too. O’Brien really knows how to translate the Vietnam experience into something somewhat understandable for those that have never been to war.

After that, it should be Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Marukami. And after that…who knows? The possibilities are endless…

9 thoughts on “Yet again a bookpost

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    When moving all your books to the other room I found lots of books that I’ve always wanted to read, but don’t own (yet). So maybe you should stay away a little longer, so I can finish them all before you come back LOL…just kidding of course😉

  2. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    When moving all your books to the other room I found lots of books that I’ve always wanted to read, but don’t own (yet). So maybe you should stay away a little longer, so I can finish them all before you come back LOL…just kidding of course😉

  3. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    When moving all your books to the other room I found lots of books that I’ve always wanted to read, but don’t own (yet). So maybe you should stay away a little longer, so I can finish them all before you come back LOL…just kidding of course😉

    • I take your point. Although I think Eline Vere was so annoying I was glad Couperus is a man so I could tell myself it was just a man’s (perhaps misogynistic) perspective. Don’t I love getting called on my prejudices🙂

    • I take your point. Although I think Eline Vere was so annoying I was glad Couperus is a man so I could tell myself it was just a man’s (perhaps misogynistic) perspective. Don’t I love getting called on my prejudices🙂

    • I take your point. Although I think Eline Vere was so annoying I was glad Couperus is a man so I could tell myself it was just a man’s (perhaps misogynistic) perspective. Don’t I love getting called on my prejudices🙂

Leave a Reply

