Wherefore art thou Romeo?

I just came back from a three-day stay in a beach house in Capitola, CA. We went to Santa Cruz on the second day, and saw the Shakespeare Co. perform Romeo and Juliet . It was amazing!! Juliet really was a fourteen-year-old girl discovering love for the first time, and Romeo was ruggedly handsome (he was cast as a gypsy). Benvolio was funny, the nurse was hilarious, and when Mercutio died I almost had to look away.

The best part about these plays is that they’re peformed at the university in Santa Cruz in an openair theater. We had groundseats, so we sat on the ground on a blanket, and first ate a picnic dinner before seeing all the action from our front row perspective. It doesn’t get better than that!

6 thoughts on “Wherefore art thou Romeo?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    Sounds like a great night out! I love Romeo and Juliet and all the different versions of plays and movies that are out there🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    Sounds like a great night out! I love Romeo and Juliet and all the different versions of plays and movies that are out there🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    Sounds like a great night out! I love Romeo and Juliet and all the different versions of plays and movies that are out there🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    Gina
    I’m really sorry for my lack of response here, but I’ve been quite busy lately (translation assignment, take-home exam, job… And in between I just need to draw, of course, like you need to read, lol😉 Anyway, I caught up on your adventures and, well, books, and wow! You read a lot! Awesome to see someone so eh, what’s the word, emerged in a hobby/passion like I myself am way too often. And the titles of the books! Sounds very.. learned, I suppose, lol😉 Great! Keep ’em coming!
    Have your classes started yet? From what I can tell from the Internet classes in the US began like 2 or 3 weeks ago o_o Wow… But I suppose they have regions there as well?
    Long post… sorry! Just really curious. I’ve become sort of reversed homesick lately (if that’s possible, after months/years). I really, REALLY want to go to the US, but that’ll have to wait one more year… *sigh* Keep us posted!
    Gina

  5. Anonymous says:

    Gina
    I’m really sorry for my lack of response here, but I’ve been quite busy lately (translation assignment, take-home exam, job… And in between I just need to draw, of course, like you need to read, lol😉 Anyway, I caught up on your adventures and, well, books, and wow! You read a lot! Awesome to see someone so eh, what’s the word, emerged in a hobby/passion like I myself am way too often. And the titles of the books! Sounds very.. learned, I suppose, lol😉 Great! Keep ’em coming!
    Have your classes started yet? From what I can tell from the Internet classes in the US began like 2 or 3 weeks ago o_o Wow… But I suppose they have regions there as well?
    Long post… sorry! Just really curious. I’ve become sort of reversed homesick lately (if that’s possible, after months/years). I really, REALLY want to go to the US, but that’ll have to wait one more year… *sigh* Keep us posted!
    Gina

  6. Anonymous says:

    Gina
    I’m really sorry for my lack of response here, but I’ve been quite busy lately (translation assignment, take-home exam, job… And in between I just need to draw, of course, like you need to read, lol😉 Anyway, I caught up on your adventures and, well, books, and wow! You read a lot! Awesome to see someone so eh, what’s the word, emerged in a hobby/passion like I myself am way too often. And the titles of the books! Sounds very.. learned, I suppose, lol😉 Great! Keep ’em coming!
    Have your classes started yet? From what I can tell from the Internet classes in the US began like 2 or 3 weeks ago o_o Wow… But I suppose they have regions there as well?
    Long post… sorry! Just really curious. I’ve become sort of reversed homesick lately (if that’s possible, after months/years). I really, REALLY want to go to the US, but that’ll have to wait one more year… *sigh* Keep us posted!
    Gina

Leave a Reply

