Indies rule!

Yesterday was the most perfect day ever. After sleeping late (that is, till 8:30 AM), a leisurely breakfast, and a mid-morning coffee stop at Peets, we went to San Ramon, where an amazing indie (independent, so not part of a chain like Borders, Barnes and Noble, etc) second-hand bookstore is located. A sign announced a huge book sale, and we came away with 13 new books for an great price. And believe me, we had to discard a lot of books to come up with 13 – if I’d had my way (and a bigger budget), we would have loaded up the backseat of the car. Among the winners were:

Housekeeping Vs. The Dirt by Nick Hornby
Slow Man by J.M. Coetzee
She Went All the Way by Meggin Cabot
We Were The Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates
The Cornish Trilogy (The Rebel Angels, What’s Bred in the Bone and The Lyre of Orpeheus) by Robertson Davies
The Meaning of Night: A Confession by Michael Cox
Diary by Chuck Palahniuk
The Pieces from Berlin by Michael Pye
Julie and Romeo Get Lucky by Jeanne Ray

I’m especially looking forward to We Were The Mulvaneys and The Cornish Trilogy, but I have to finish The Book Thief (Markus Zusak) first (not that I mind, as it is a great book. Who’d think Death made such an agreeable narrator?) Elske and dad are off for a hike, I just came back from a very tiring but very rewarding run, and after a quick and cold shower I’ll sit on the deck for the rest of the afternoon. Summer doesn’t get better than this!

9 thoughts on “Indies rule!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    oh yeah i’m jealous! But I already got my pick at the Deventer Bookfair a few weeks ago…so I can’t complain really haha🙂 Have fun with all the new books!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    oh yeah i’m jealous! But I already got my pick at the Deventer Bookfair a few weeks ago…so I can’t complain really haha🙂 Have fun with all the new books!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    oh yeah i’m jealous! But I already got my pick at the Deventer Bookfair a few weeks ago…so I can’t complain really haha🙂 Have fun with all the new books!

Leave a Reply

