Valentine’s Day 1976

I just finished We Were The Mulvaneys, by Joyce Carol Oates. In short, I loved it. What I brought away after finishing it, next to a minute examiniation of Oates’ superb writing style, was the potential for self-destruction that lies within each of us, and how one random act of violence can change everything forever. (As if I need something to remind me of that.)

It reminded me sometimes of Jonathan Franzen’s The Corrections (have you got to that yet, Lotte? πŸ˜‰ ) because of the impact the family members have on each other. And while both books made me sad, it was good to see how the Mulvaneys reached redemption in the end.

I have a quote to illustrate this frame of mind (it’s on a card I bought this afternoon and now is hanging on my wall):

everything will be okay in the end.
if it’s not okay, it’s not the end.

Amen to that!

9 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day 1976

  1. Anonymous says:

    Gina
    Ow! I really like that quote! Amen indeed πŸ˜‰
    I’ve begun reading A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon (who also wrote the children’s book The Curious Incident…). I got the book from a friend whose master thesis I revised (it was in English, his first attempt, lol) and so I thought, after all the fantasy I’ve been reading, let’s actually begin in this one. But I have to admit, after all the fantasy I’ve been reading, it is a lot of getting used to. Seriously. It’s actually about a normal family with normal problems and no magic is involved! Lol. I’m not sure if I like it, yet… We’ll see πŸ˜‰
    Have fun over there! What courses are you taking?
    Gina

    • Re: Gina
      I so loved The Curious Incident, but haven’t started that one yet. It’s on my list though…let me know what you thought when you finish it πŸ™‚
      and my courses:
      -Jewish Civilization: the Modern Period
      -Mysteries of the City (American Literature)
      -The Southern Border (Ethnic Studies)
      -Urban Community (about cities and city planning and urban politics)
      I’ll talk more about them on my waarbenjij this week πŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    Gina
    Ow! I really like that quote! Amen indeed πŸ˜‰
    I’ve begun reading A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon (who also wrote the children’s book The Curious Incident…). I got the book from a friend whose master thesis I revised (it was in English, his first attempt, lol) and so I thought, after all the fantasy I’ve been reading, let’s actually begin in this one. But I have to admit, after all the fantasy I’ve been reading, it is a lot of getting used to. Seriously. It’s actually about a normal family with normal problems and no magic is involved! Lol. I’m not sure if I like it, yet… We’ll see πŸ˜‰
    Have fun over there! What courses are you taking?
    Gina

    • Re: Gina
      I so loved The Curious Incident, but haven’t started that one yet. It’s on my list though…let me know what you thought when you finish it πŸ™‚
      and my courses:
      -Jewish Civilization: the Modern Period
      -Mysteries of the City (American Literature)
      -The Southern Border (Ethnic Studies)
      -Urban Community (about cities and city planning and urban politics)
      I’ll talk more about them on my waarbenjij this week πŸ™‚

  3. Anonymous says:

    Gina
    Ow! I really like that quote! Amen indeed πŸ˜‰
    I’ve begun reading A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon (who also wrote the children’s book The Curious Incident…). I got the book from a friend whose master thesis I revised (it was in English, his first attempt, lol) and so I thought, after all the fantasy I’ve been reading, let’s actually begin in this one. But I have to admit, after all the fantasy I’ve been reading, it is a lot of getting used to. Seriously. It’s actually about a normal family with normal problems and no magic is involved! Lol. I’m not sure if I like it, yet… We’ll see πŸ˜‰
    Have fun over there! What courses are you taking?
    Gina

    • Re: Gina
      I so loved The Curious Incident, but haven’t started that one yet. It’s on my list though…let me know what you thought when you finish it πŸ™‚
      and my courses:
      -Jewish Civilization: the Modern Period
      -Mysteries of the City (American Literature)
      -The Southern Border (Ethnic Studies)
      -Urban Community (about cities and city planning and urban politics)
      I’ll talk more about them on my waarbenjij this week πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

