So Berkeley, while very exciting and fun and wonderful in so many ways, is not good for my overall view of humanity. Between my urban policy class, where I learn how poor people get screwed over every single time, by Democrats and Republicans alike; my Jewish history class, where I learn how Jewish people had their citizenship awarded, revoked, awarded, revoked, and were persecuted relentlessly (all by “Christian”Β types); my literature class, where I read a 19C writer talk about women, Jews, blacks and poor (everyone not white, male and upper class) in a very disparaging way; and my Southern border class, where I read about the U.S. overthrowing the democratically chosen Guatemalean government to further their own business interests (thank you, United Fruit Company), leading to decades of blood and war; I’m amazed I have any faith left in humanity at all. The conclusion right now is that people are bigots (and futhermore, just plain mean) and I’m right not to trust them.

But I’m sure that’ll pass once we get to the modern age in my classes. ‘Cause there’s no racial, ethnic or economic segregation or discrimination going on right now; the Jews have recovered from eras of discrimination and humiliation; misogynistic males are things of the past; and the U.S. would never go to war to further their business interests. Right?

18 thoughts on “

    • Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚ I guess I’ve just never noticed it before. Maybe because I’m taking classes from 4 different departments, the common theme has become more apparent.

      • My friends and I all came to this conclusion a while back. We also decided that’s why so many kids at our school feel the need to drink themselves senseless all the time.
        Of course…that might just be Boulder…

    • Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚ I guess I’ve just never noticed it before. Maybe because I’m taking classes from 4 different departments, the common theme has become more apparent.

      • My friends and I all came to this conclusion a while back. We also decided that’s why so many kids at our school feel the need to drink themselves senseless all the time.
        Of course…that might just be Boulder…

    • Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚ I guess I’ve just never noticed it before. Maybe because I’m taking classes from 4 different departments, the common theme has become more apparent.

      • My friends and I all came to this conclusion a while back. We also decided that’s why so many kids at our school feel the need to drink themselves senseless all the time.
        Of course…that might just be Boulder…

  1. I think it’s just the effect of university. I mean, after I finished that course on Popes I felt even more justified not to be religious. *g* A lot of things they decided on in the name of religion was nothing more than earthly politics. πŸ˜‰

  2. I think it’s just the effect of university. I mean, after I finished that course on Popes I felt even more justified not to be religious. *g* A lot of things they decided on in the name of religion was nothing more than earthly politics. πŸ˜‰

  3. I think it’s just the effect of university. I mean, after I finished that course on Popes I felt even more justified not to be religious. *g* A lot of things they decided on in the name of religion was nothing more than earthly politics. πŸ˜‰

  4. You know, you might take a class that is fun. I took a poetry class once, and did so because it fit my schedule and filled a requirement. Turns out that it was a wonderful class taught by a stellar prof. A FULL PROFESSOR in fact. Quite a change from the poli sci classes, but a great change of pace.

    • I am actually enjoying them. They just tend to further my dark frame of mind…but I’m also taking a DEcal on the Berkeley Fiction Review, which seems to be a lot of fun and much less dark. And once we move out of the era of commercialization of sex and into a later era, I think my literature class will be fun too. The profs are very good, so that counts for something as well πŸ™‚

  5. You know, you might take a class that is fun. I took a poetry class once, and did so because it fit my schedule and filled a requirement. Turns out that it was a wonderful class taught by a stellar prof. A FULL PROFESSOR in fact. Quite a change from the poli sci classes, but a great change of pace.

    • I am actually enjoying them. They just tend to further my dark frame of mind…but I’m also taking a DEcal on the Berkeley Fiction Review, which seems to be a lot of fun and much less dark. And once we move out of the era of commercialization of sex and into a later era, I think my literature class will be fun too. The profs are very good, so that counts for something as well πŸ™‚

  6. You know, you might take a class that is fun. I took a poetry class once, and did so because it fit my schedule and filled a requirement. Turns out that it was a wonderful class taught by a stellar prof. A FULL PROFESSOR in fact. Quite a change from the poli sci classes, but a great change of pace.

    • I am actually enjoying them. They just tend to further my dark frame of mind…but I’m also taking a DEcal on the Berkeley Fiction Review, which seems to be a lot of fun and much less dark. And once we move out of the era of commercialization of sex and into a later era, I think my literature class will be fun too. The profs are very good, so that counts for something as well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

