I got up early today so I could vote before my 9:30 class. At 8 AM, I was walking towards the polling place. At 8:15, I had done my democratic duty and was wearing my "I Voted" sticker with pride. It was immensely satisfying to vote for change, especially because I have been liking the direction the U.S. has been going in less and less. My liberal European views are partly to blame for that, but the relative objectivity that distance creates has also played a part. I don’t think I really believe in American exceptionalism anymore like I did when I was growing up here, but I do love this country, and I hope the next president can begin restoring it to true greatness. 

Leave a Reply

