While I am, of course, estatic about Obama winning the election so decisvely, and while I was really inspired by his speech and felt very American for the duration, I can’t help but also be sad today. California passed Proposition 8, eliminating the right of same sex couples to marry. Just when I was feeling that America might be on the road to change, they go and do something incredibly stupid and just plain wrong like that.

That’s all for now. I am really quite upset. 

Update: at noon I went to stand with some of my (gay) friends at Sproul Hall to protest the passing of prop 8. It made me feel a little better to let them know I support them and that this fight isn’t over yet. Equality and freedom for all. Yet there’s so little I can do, I can’t begin to imagine how it must feel to have your civil rights taken away from you by your fellow Californians.

Leave a Reply

