I love movies. But I don’t watch them as often as I would like, which makes my movie knowledge almost non-existent (a shameful thing for a so-called student of popular culture to admit). But this week I tried to rectify that by watching three new movies.

-Sunday saw Reprise, a Norwegian film about two friends, both writers, whose paths to success take such very different routes. It was a very artsy film, with flashbacks and flashforwards and alternate realities. But beautifully done. 

– Monday night was American Beauty night. Such a sad, sad movie. The things human beings will put up with in the name of continuing the status quo…it did make me glad that during all those unhappy years my own family went through, we were always honest about how unhappy we were. I think in some way the dishonesty and pretending that went on in that suburban family was worse than what we dealt with (especially since we all made it out alive..)

-Wednesday found time for Love Actually. I loved all the different plotlines, the magnificant one-liners, and the great music. 

While reading will always be my first and primary love (there’s nothing like taking words on a page and making them come alive in your own head), coupled with writing (when my writing is going well, all I do is transcribe what the characters in the movie showing behind my eyes are doing), film comes in a close second. I love seeing what other people’s imagination has come up with.

3 thoughts on “

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    I LOVE Love Actually, it’s a brilliant movie (was a book first lol). I adore Hugh Grant, so that helps as well😉 It’s one of the movies that I watch every year around christmas🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    I LOVE Love Actually, it’s a brilliant movie (was a book first lol). I adore Hugh Grant, so that helps as well😉 It’s one of the movies that I watch every year around christmas🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    I LOVE Love Actually, it’s a brilliant movie (was a book first lol). I adore Hugh Grant, so that helps as well😉 It’s one of the movies that I watch every year around christmas🙂

Leave a Reply

