Verbal vs Written

I am always amazed by the difference in my verbal and my written skills. I do not talk well, to put it that way. I can’t explain what I mean, or give examples, or construct sentences in a proper way. I feel pressure to say interesting things or appear profound. And whenever I actually am thinking something profound (to me), I cannot express myself. I hate not being able to contribute more to a conversation than "yeah" or "uhuh" or "really?". 

Yet when I write it all comes together. The words flow, I feel confident, I know what I mean and what I want to say. I’m a good writer. I understand nuances in writing I never do in speech, and I have a much better vocabulary.

It’s funny that it should work this way, that I am afraid and unable to express my opinions verbally, yet overly confident on paper. Because if one thinks about it, words in the air last only a minute (until another one comes along), while words on paper have the potential to last forever. One would think the latter would be much more nerve-racking than the former…

3 thoughts on “Verbal vs Written

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sounds really familiar! I like writing down my thoughts, ideas and so on about the world and myself (though I don’t know if I’m that much a writer as you and Stefan for example :)), much better than trying to explain things and then afterwards the thoughts of what you actually wanted to say…
    Mirjam

  2. Anonymous says:

    Sounds really familiar! I like writing down my thoughts, ideas and so on about the world and myself (though I don’t know if I’m that much a writer as you and Stefan for example :)), much better than trying to explain things and then afterwards the thoughts of what you actually wanted to say…
    Mirjam

  3. Anonymous says:

    Sounds really familiar! I like writing down my thoughts, ideas and so on about the world and myself (though I don’t know if I’m that much a writer as you and Stefan for example :)), much better than trying to explain things and then afterwards the thoughts of what you actually wanted to say…
    Mirjam

Leave a Reply

