stupid commerciality invading my heart

I walked by a lingerie store yesterday that had "HE LOVES ME" in big bright letters on the store windows. This annoyed me to no end, for some reason. First of all, thanks for the exclusive language, I guess lesbians or others not involved in heterosexual relationships don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day?

I could deal with all the other stores selling Valentine-themed crap, but this store really got a rise out of me. I found myself muttering to myself that it could better have read "I LOVE ME" because that’s more important and seems to me to be a better way towards happiness than all the forms of self-destructive love that are out there. Then I realized that most, if not all, what I was feeling was just sour grapes that I don’t have anyone to celebrate these moments with. Usually, I don’t care, but I’ve come to notice lately how much value our society places on relationships, and how lonely you can be made to feel because you’re not in one, even if you actually are quite happy by yourself.

Luckily Valentine’s Day is Saturday and we can get rid of all the sappy hearts afterwards. And then I can focus on how happy I make myself again.

3 thoughts on “stupid commerciality invading my heart

  1. Look at the bright side: you can get a big pile of chocolate, some liquor and spend all money you would spend on your lover on yourself and know for sure it’ll be appreciated.😉

  2. Look at the bright side: you can get a big pile of chocolate, some liquor and spend all money you would spend on your lover on yourself and know for sure it’ll be appreciated.😉

  3. Look at the bright side: you can get a big pile of chocolate, some liquor and spend all money you would spend on your lover on yourself and know for sure it’ll be appreciated.😉

Leave a Reply

