downtime

When I really want to relax, I don’t watch tv. Instead, I grab one or two of my favorite books; books that are ‘light’, and ‘easy’, and that I have come to know intimately over the years. I’ll lie down on my couch, perhaps with juice or coffee within easy reach, and read. I’ve read this words so often I know what is going to happen, and when. I can dream through the pages, laughing at all the funny parts, feeling sad when disaster strikes. An hour passes, then another, and when I get up from the couch (because duty calls: I have to make dinner, or do homework, or go somewhere) I feel fully relaxed.

Usually I grab a Discworld novel for this, although I read Eat Cake and Step Ball Change, both by Jeanne Ray, last week.

What are some of your favorite books?

9 thoughts on “downtime

  1. I often do the same, restfully reading a book I know and love. With me it may be mountaineering books. I’ve been through the adventures on the mountain before with the author, but I revisit them, and just chill and take time out from the world.

  2. I often do the same, restfully reading a book I know and love. With me it may be mountaineering books. I’ve been through the adventures on the mountain before with the author, but I revisit them, and just chill and take time out from the world.

  3. I often do the same, restfully reading a book I know and love. With me it may be mountaineering books. I’ve been through the adventures on the mountain before with the author, but I revisit them, and just chill and take time out from the world.

Leave a Reply

