synonyms for sex acts

I’m writing the chapter in my thesis on Philip Roth’s Portnoy’s Complaint right now, and one of the things I’m becoming very creative in is finding multiple ways to (politely) describe all kinds of sex acts. Right now, I’m looking up words I can substitute for masturbation, as there is a limit how often one can use that word in a paragraph, let alone a chapter. Roth is particularly creative, but most of his words are unsuitable for an academic environment, and there’s only so much direct quoting I can do…or want to do given the graphicness of this particular novel.

I clearly did not think this through when I chose my subject matter.

9 thoughts on “synonyms for sex acts

  1. I don’t know if there IS a polite way to refer to:
    Choking the chicken
    Hone the bone
    Jerking off
    Pawing off
    Spank the monkey
    Having on off at the wrist

  2. I don’t know if there IS a polite way to refer to:
    Choking the chicken
    Hone the bone
    Jerking off
    Pawing off
    Spank the monkey
    Having on off at the wrist

  3. I don’t know if there IS a polite way to refer to:
    Choking the chicken
    Hone the bone
    Jerking off
    Pawing off
    Spank the monkey
    Having on off at the wrist

Leave a Reply

