dark, compelling secrets

You guys know I love to read and surround myself with books every chance I get. And while I haven’t read them all, I tend to know about most of the books that are on the best-seller lists. Some really appeal to me, and I try to get my hands on them, while others are just not my thing (I’ll leave the historical romances to other people. The only exception I’ll make is for Lauren Willig’s The Pink Carnation series. They’re actually quite good). And some I don’t want to read because they’re so popular and everyone is reading them. Take the Twilight series, for example. I swore I’d never read them (I’m sorry, I can sometimes really be a literary snob) because everyone was raving about them and vampire romance could never be good, right? But I have now officially caved. At the wrong moment, actually. I am supposed to be revising my master’s thesis this weekend, not reading Twilight. So a part of me wants Twilight to suck* so I can focus on Jewish identity issues. Luckily for Stephanie Meyer, a bigger part of me would like to be sucked into the town of Forks and finally read about Edward, Bella and Jacob**.

*I’m sorry, it’s terrible pun-y*** to talk about sucking in a vampire context.
**I have been hearing too much about Team Jacob and Team Edward to not be curious.
***Is that a word, or have I been reading too much Terry Pratchett?

6 thoughts on “dark, compelling secrets

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    Yay you’re finally reading Twilight! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts🙂 and who’s team you’re on (and if I was right with my prediction haha).

  2. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    Yay you’re finally reading Twilight! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts🙂 and who’s team you’re on (and if I was right with my prediction haha).

  3. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    Yay you’re finally reading Twilight! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts🙂 and who’s team you’re on (and if I was right with my prediction haha).

Leave a Reply

