female fear

So I guess it’s not a surprise that I read a lot of blogs devoted to feminism and/or gender issues. Today I was over at Equal Writes, and read this piece called "Fear and female experience". Basically, the post was about how women sometimes need different things than men to feel safe. I agree with the sentiments expressed, and I am impressed by how lucidly she was able to talk about her fears. And especially how she recognizes that although her fear is not always rational, it is real and therefore something to be respected and reckoned with. Amen to that. I try to ignore my fears because I don’t like having to choose between safety and independence, which works out okay as long as I’m on my bike and theoretically faster than any potential danger. I hope that one day, when, if I have a daughter, that she won’t need to be afraid.

And in that light, perhaps it’s relevant to note that today is the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women. The UN designated this day in 1999 to mark the murders of the Maribel sisters in the Dominican Republic in 1960. I’ve linked to the Wikipedia page for those of you that might want more information.

3 thoughts on “female fear

  1. Anonymous says:

    and you know what I like about this whole process of yours? Despite the doubts you have, and despite the image you have that you’re not sure of a lot of things other christians are sure of, I personally think and admire that you are a lot more uhm (how to say that in english ;)) active in this process than a lot of other christians I know.
    Keep on going in that process and keep on posting about it 🙂
    (hmm hope you get the message, maybe I write you in Dutch about it sometime :))
    Mirjam

  2. Anonymous says:

    and you know what I like about this whole process of yours? Despite the doubts you have, and despite the image you have that you’re not sure of a lot of things other christians are sure of, I personally think and admire that you are a lot more uhm (how to say that in english ;)) active in this process than a lot of other christians I know.
    Keep on going in that process and keep on posting about it 🙂
    (hmm hope you get the message, maybe I write you in Dutch about it sometime :))
    Mirjam

  3. Anonymous says:

    and you know what I like about this whole process of yours? Despite the doubts you have, and despite the image you have that you’re not sure of a lot of things other christians are sure of, I personally think and admire that you are a lot more uhm (how to say that in english ;)) active in this process than a lot of other christians I know.
    Keep on going in that process and keep on posting about it 🙂
    (hmm hope you get the message, maybe I write you in Dutch about it sometime :))
    Mirjam

Leave a Reply

