bookpost

Today, in a spare moment, I picked up The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (by Mary Ann Shaffer andAnnie Barrows).

I didn’t actually think I’d like it (I don’t like books written through letters much) when I saw it at my dad’s house, but he had put it on the pile of new reads I was going to borrow, and I trust my dad’s literary judgment, so there you are. And the fact that I’m writing this review of it not a day later proves how wrong I was, and how right he was. The story is pretty simple. Juliet is a writer, living in bombed out London right after WWII. She’s looking for material for her next book, when she gets a letter from a stranger in Guersney. She writes back, he writes back, and so she learns about the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Eventually, she exchanges letters with almost everyone in the Society, and she decides to make life in Guernsey  during the war the subject of her next book (Guernsey, in contrast to England, had been occupied by the Germans). I won’t tell you anymore of the plot, because I don’t want to give it away. It isn’t terribly surprising, but still.

It’s a sweet and simple book. It’s romantic, but not terribly so, and the letter format is actually quite suited to the plot. I think I’d give it a seven out of ten, and if this copy was actually mine, I’d lend it to my friends.

3 thoughts on “bookpost

  1. Anonymous says:

    there are two problem with books: primo: you have to read them to know whether they are good or not, secundo: there are a lot of books…
    i’m glad you solved a part of the first problem (but please do not try to solve the second…)

  2. Anonymous says:

    there are two problem with books: primo: you have to read them to know whether they are good or not, secundo: there are a lot of books…
    i’m glad you solved a part of the first problem (but please do not try to solve the second…)

  3. Anonymous says:

    Lotte
    I’ve heard and read a lot about this book and many people say the same thing you just did. That they didn’t know what to expect and if they would like it, but in the end they loved the book. So I definitely put it on my ‘to read’ list for next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

