we wish you a merry christmas

As I am typing this, we have already dined on two courses (soup and salad) and my sisters are in the kitchen* preparing the last eight (yes, eight!) dishes that will comprise our First Christmas Dinner**. Not counting dessert, as I made a pumpkin pie last night. Come hell or high water, I really want to eat that.

In my family, Christmas is clearly all about the food.

Actually, all major holidays are.

*I am not entirely shirking my duty. My mom’s kitchen just isn’t big enough for three people. Or so I tell myself.
**tomorrow is our Second Christmas Dinner at my dad’s house. And the Third Christmas Dinner is a light lunch, which would help, if I weren’t going out to dinner that night with friends. After that, I don’t want to eat again until New Year’s.

Leave a Reply

