my year in desserts

You know how I thought I’d send out the old year and welcome the new? By listing the cakes I’ve made this year. Usually, I’d list the books I’ve read, but with the whole studying abroad thing, I didn’t keep as well a track as I usually do. I could also list the trips I’ve made (think East Coast in January, Miami in May, and Scotland in October), but somehow nothing makes me as happy as baking.

This was the year I branched out. I made my old favorites:

carrot cake

Matilda’s chocolate cake:

banana bread

but I also tried my hand at some new recipes. Most notable of these are

chocolate macaroon cake

key lime pie

sweet potato pie:

and still awaiting trial

red velvet cupcakes:

don’t they look delicious?

(the latter two are from Jamie Oliver’s America, a fantastic cookbook I got for Christmas. On a side note, I’m making this for dinner tonight, from the same book.)

2 thoughts on “my year in desserts

  1. Yaay a new blog. I like wordpress better than livejournal personally, so good choice I’d say๐Ÿ˜‰ I can finally comment normally, yay!๐Ÿ˜‰

    You are the best baker I know! From the things I’ve tasted I always thought your food is delicious. How cool that you got that Jamie Oliver cookbook, I’ve looked at it numerous times and not only love the recipes, but the pictures are so beautiful as well!๐Ÿ˜€ We should do a cookingdate and pick a recipe to cook together from the book, that would be great๐Ÿ˜€ Maybe for our next bookclubmeeting?๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

