bay area judaism

One of my favorite museums in San Francisco is the Contemporary Jewish Museum (CJM). It’s around the corner from the Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA), which I also love, even if it does get a little too modern at times…

yesterday we visited both. The MOMA was first, for its 75th anniversary exhibition (tagged 75 years of looking forward, which I think is cute). Then on to the CJM, for a lovely, lovely exhibit about Maurice Sendak. Remember this post? Well, I got Egger’s The Wild Things for Christmas from my lovely little sister, although I haven’t seen the movie yet. The exhibition focused on Sendak’s work from a Jewish perspective (usually called ‘the other story’) through taking a look at several themes throughout his work. There were so many illustrations on display, it was amazing. When we went in, I asked myself why I only really knew his Where the Wild Things Are, but when we walked in I realized he had illustrated so much more that I did know about. The Light Princess and The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald, for example. My dad loved it as well and examined every drawing minutely (even if he did complain afterward that some of the images were too small for him to properly see).

It was a lovely, lovely exhibition, with a lot of kids running around. I think it will make it into my top ten for this year – that’s how much I loved it.

And I noticed an interesting side effect: exhibitions like these make me want to have kids. Now, you guys know that me and kids? Me and getting married? Me and settling down? just doesn’t rhyme, not right now anyway. But when I see all my favorite childhood books on a pile, and see kids so excited, I want to have some of my own that I can sit down with and welcome into the exciting world of reading.

Leave a Reply

